Tony’s big day

For an entire month my car key was nowhere to be found.  Off and on I searched to no avail, but I wasn’t worried because I knew the key had to be in the house.  But where?

Then, day before yesterday as Steven was preparing to leave for work, he said, “Since you haven’t found the key, I’m thinking of ordering a replacement.  It’ll take a while to get here, though.”

“It’s okay.  Don’t worry about it.” I told him.

Tony, Tony, look around.  The key is lost and must be found.

“Let’s see what St. Anthony comes up with,” I said and quickly forgot about the key.

Serendipity

When Steven got home that afternoon, he needed something from the closet shelf in the office.  Reaching into the box he excitedly proclaimed, “Look at this!  I should’ve opened the door on the left but opened this other one instead.  Look what I found!”

There in his right hand was the missing car key entwined in the coiled cord of the vehicle’s phone charger.  Without thinking he’d opened the wrong door, reached into the wrong box, and discovered the missing key!

“How did the key end up there?  I didn’t put it there.  You didn’t put it there.  Why did I go for this door when I  meant to open the left door?  Serendipity?  How did this happen?”

Steven was beside himself with amusement, delight, relief, and awe.  He’d never before referred to anything as serendipitous.  Three times, no less.

Tony’s big day

“That’s St. Anthony for you!” I enthused.  “I told you he’d take care of it, and he did.  He knew I wanted something special to write about for his feast day, so he took care of both dilemmas with one simple feat.

“Not only that,” I continued.  “Two letters ago I learned that Sister in Australia celebrates her birthday on June thirteenth, so now I have two very special reasons to celebrate St. Anthony’s big day.”

      

      

Contact information

The novena pamphlet, the prayer booklet, and the prayer card are from Franciscan Mission Associates, P.O. Box 598, Mount Vernon, NY 10551-0598.  St. Anthony relics are also available.  The top large photo (source unknown) and the lower right-hand prayer card I’ve had for decades.  The novena prayer card is from The Province of St. Mary of the Capuchin Order, 21 West 31st Street, New York, NY 10001-2876.

Nine days of prayer in honor of St. Anthony

First day…  Dear St. Anthony, you are renowned all over the world for your unfailing assistance to those who are afflicted, in trouble, or burdened with any great anxiety.  With reliance on your power to intercede with God for those in difficulty, I confidently entrust to you my present intention.  With your gracious support, God’s mercy will meet my need.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, pray for us.

Second day…  Lovable St. Anthony, in your apostolic preaching you insisted on our duty to pray without ceasing.  Please help me now to make my every action a silent prayer to God in my necessity which I have trustingly confided to your care.  In your kindness teach me how to pray patiently, perseveringly, and in a spirit of resignation to God’s holy and saving will.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, intercede for us.

Third day…  Glorious St. Anthony, by the example of your holy life as by your preaching, you inspire us with undiminished trust in God’s mercy and kindness.  In your honor I will fast from some legitimate pleasures of life in order to purify my affections and clarify my intentions.  As you taught us, the good Lord listens with love to the prayers of those who come before him with faith.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, plead for us.

Fourth day…  Powerful St. Anthony, you have multiplied your favors over the years since your entrance into heaven to show God’s bountiful mercy to those who are in sorrow.  I try, despite my sinfulness and weakness, to imitate your virtues and to obey God’s word so as to honor you sincerely and fittingly.  Please come quickly to my aid in my present necessity.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, be our protector.

Fifth day…  Charitable St. Anthony, in honor of your own goodness and compassion I, too, am trying to help others in need of understanding and mercy.  This prayer in practice I offer to God through your hands in a spirit of confident faith knowing full well that all who call upon you will receive consolation and aid.  Your own merciful assistance so often shown to others I will, I am sure, be mine.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, be good to us.

Sixth day…  Humble St. Anthony, how patient you were in humbly doing God’s will and leaving to him your life and its future.  Kindly obtain from God for me the grace to reconcile myself to his holy will for me in my great concern.  I cast all my cares on you who will, I am sure, entrust them to the Lord who is never deaf to those whose full trust is in him.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, watch over us.

Seventh day…  Most pure St. Anthony, by your singleness of heart you steadfastly pursued the task God gave you.  By your example and help, I turn to you in faith so that you may be my patron and steady voice before God’s throne.  You are a friend in great trials as in the smallest difficulties, so I implore you to come also to my assistance now.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, keep us faithful.

Eighth day…  St. Anthony, consoler, you are ever attentive to those who come to you with their difficulties whether large or small.  Those who know your kindness learn to rely with faith on your power with God and your desire to help God’s people.  Please make my present concern your own and intercede for me and for those I entrust to your care.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, be our comfort.

Ninth day…  Faithful St. Anthony, I thank you for your many favors in the past.  In the certainty you will assist me in my present need, I will show my appreciation by imitating your virtues and example, by avoiding sin, and by patiently persisting in prayer so as to conform my will to God’s purpose for me and for those I pray for.

Our Father…. / Hail Mary…. / St. Anthony, remember my needs.

Quote…  “Nothing apart from God can satisfy the human heart that is truly in search of him” (St. Anthony of Padua).

Links of interest…  Dear St. Anthony…  Ever heard of “everyone’s saint” basilica…  Lost & found (blog)…  Mail deliveries (S.A.G.)…  Recipe…  St. Anthony: bread / feast (June 13) / to the rescue

WP posts…  Budding relationships…  Making meaning…  Prayer…  Saint of miracles…  Si quaeris miracula…  St. AnthonySt. Anthony chaplets…  Venerating St. Anthony

3 Responses

  1. Very thought provoking. Maybe I should have asked St. Anthony where my bus pass was this morning. Maybe he could have nudged me to my coat pocket this morning! It is a little late to try the novena, but I may just pray to him sometime.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.