Saint of miracles

Just recently, as I was looking through my stash of prayer booklets and such, I came across Prayers for today to St. Anthony of Padua (Franciscan Mission Associates, B5/09).

The leaflet includes not just eleven prayers, but also a heartfelt introduction that appeals to one’s sense of proactive engagement that gladdens this teacher’s heart.

The printed prayers are a guide only.  If you prefer, you may use your own words in addressing
St. Anthony, just as you speak freely to a friend.  Better still, you may pray to him, wherever possible, without any words at all, but from the heart alone (p. 2).

Prayers to St. Anthony

Before a journey…  Dear St. Anthony, today I greet you as the special guardian of those who must travel, or go on a trip.  I appreciate your continued interest in my welfare and your unfailing help.  I am sure you will keep aiding us.

You were constantly on the move from one country to another— Sicily, France, Spain— and in all the cities of Italy.  So you know the perils of being on the road.  You have seen the troubles along the way.

In the journeys my family and I make please guide and guard us.  Let us move with caution even while we rely on your assistance.

Our Lord, Jesus Christ, told us, “I am the way.”  Pray to him for us to keep us always on the right path.  Amen.

V.  Pray for us, St. Anthony.
R.  That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Before Mass…  Dear St. Anthony, I greet you today with reverence in the knowledge of your special love of our Lord in the Eucharist.

Today I ask you to help me appreciate better the graces God gives us at holy Mass, and in receiving the sacred Eucharist.  I think of you especially when the liturgy speaks of “the saints who have done your will.”

With your aid I will be more reverent and worshipful during Mass, more careful in preparation for holy communion, more grateful in thanking god for the graces He gives us in the holy mysteries.

Let me be always well fed at the sacred banquet not only by the bread of life but by the word of God spoken for us and explained to us at Mass.  This favor, I ask of you, in Christ’s name.  Amen.

V.  Pray for us, St. Anthony.
R.  That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

For an understanding heart…  Dear St. Anthony, I salute you as my powerful patron before God.  You know how much we yearn for happiness, and how often and how stubbornly we seek it in the wrong places.

Please ask our Lord for us the grace he gave you so abundantly.  Thus, we may not vainly seek happiness in God’s creatures, but only in God himself, the source of all good.

Beg for us, powerful St. Anthony, the grace of an understanding heart.  Then, we will see the image of God in all those we meet and in every creature.  Let our hearts always be fixed on the true source of our joy, Jesus Christ, our Lord.  Amen.

V.  Pray for us, St. Anthony. R.  That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

For continued help…  Dear St. Anthony, greetings!  I count on you as a special friend.  Now that I have personal experience of your help, I can thank you best by imitating you for, as they say, imitation is the sincerest form of flattery.

May I select one virtue of your, then, that I most admire?  Perhaps, I choose this trait of yours because I so much lack it.  I’d like to imitate your goodness to the poor and those in need.

I shall start with those nearest to me, my own family.  I will do something for them whenever I can, and try to anticipate their needs.  Then I’ll look for a chance among those who live next door.

Please help me to persevere in this good intention, to progress from kind words to good deeds, and not to be discouraged if my intentions are misunderstood.  Please pray for me to God; this I ask of you in the name of Christ, our Lord.  Amen.

V.  Pray for us, St. Anthony. R.  That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

For peace…  Dear St. Anthony, yet again I greet you and thank you.  Throughout your life you always tried to be a peacemaker.  You were always reconciling enemies, getting factions to work together, smoothing and composing differences.

Our world is now upset with wars abroad, with violence and dissension at home.  Everywhere in our cities and towns, in our colleges and schools, even in our churches, a spirit of strife too often prevails.

These are all, as you know better than I, the fruit of sin, a sign of human instability and insufficiency.  Help us by your power before God to be peacemakers.  Help me especially to pray and work for peace in my family and my neighborhood whenever I can.  I ask this favor in the name of our Lord, the prince of peace.  Amen.

V.  Pray for us, St. Anthony. R.  That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

In time of trial…  Great St. Anthony, I thank our Lord for the benefits he still gives us today in your honor.  I thank him, too, for the graces he gave you during your brief span on earth.

God can give us, his creatures, no greater gift than himself.  This is what Jesus, our Lord, did when as the divine infant, he embraced you.  It is also a symbol of the love he holds for all his people, the love he longs to share with each one of us, even me.

Dear St. Anthony, help me in my anxieties, troubles, and afflictions, particularly (here mention your request).  Please intercede for me with God in my necessities.  This I ask through Christ, our Lord.  Amen.

V.  Pray for us, St. Anthony.
R.  That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Contact information

               

If you’d like to request prayers and/or a third-class St. Anthony relic, contact Franciscan Mission Associates, P.O. Box 598, Mount Vernon, NY 10551-0598.

April 15, 2015

Be natural in your meditation.  Use up your own stock of piety and love before resorting to books….  Our good Master prefers the poverty of our hearts to the most sublime thoughts borrowed from others (St. Peter Julian Eymard).

Links of interest…   American Catholic…  Basilica in Padua, Italy…  Dear St. Anthony
…  Do you need a miracle in your life…  Franciscan Mission Associates: prayer requests / quarterly newsletter / seasonal devotions…  Help from heaven…  Hymn to
St. Anthony of Padua
…  Nine Tuesdays devotion…  Si quaeris miracula: prayer / song…  St. Anthony: 1195-1231 / biography / Franciscan / life / mail deliveries (S.A.G.) / miracles & traditions / shrine / stolen relic / wonder worker…  St. Anthony’s Guild: devotions / ecards / prayer requests / prayers

WP posts…  Budding relationships…  Franciscan experience…  Holy relics…  In good time…  Making meaning…  My Franciscan Crown…  Prayer…  Si quaeris miracula…  St. Anthony…  St. Felix…  Tony’s big day

Leave a Reply

