Si quaeris miracula

Miracles.  Everyone needs them at one time or another.  Big ones, small ones, they happen every day.  But, if we’re not looking, we fail to see them.

Awareness

Have you ever bought something— a car, for instance— that you thought no one else had in a particular color?  Then, the more you drove your car, the more you noticed others like it?

FMA8410aThat’s the way it is with miracles.

When you acknowledge one, your awareness grows; and, before long, you begin to notice the miracles happening all around.  The more you talk about them, the more you’re asked to be a prayer partner for healing, justice, employment, peace of mind, and other concerns that cause great distress in everyday life.

United prayer

Again I tell you, if two of you join your voices on earth to pray for anything whatsoever, it shall be granted you by my Father in heaven.  Where two or more are gathered in my name, there in their midst am I (Mt. 18:
19-20).

Intercessory power

FMA8410bThe beauty of united prayer is that we don’t have to be together in one specific place.  We can support the cause from wherever we happen to be, at whatever time we happen to pray.  Moreover, we can tap experts in the field— our saints— for their intercessory power.

My two all-time favorites are St. Jude and St. Anthony, although I call on the former only when there’s a serious dilemma regarding our kids or grandkids.  St. Anthony, on the other hand, is a lifelong friend with whom I dialogue throughout the day.  I call on him anytime someone needs a favor and especially when I’ve lost something.

St. Anthony chaplet

Sometimes, too, St. Anthony helps me find treasures I didn’t even know were missing— like the chaplet prayers and the miraculous responsory that I serendipitously discovered just recently.

This prayerful devotion is said in honor of the thirteen favors mentioned in the Miraculous Responsory.  Pray an Our Father, a Hail Mary, and a Glory be after each of the thirteen favors and conclude with the Miraculous Responsory 

  1. Most gracious St. Anthony, keep me from sin and enable me to persevere in good.
  2. Great St. Anthony, keep whatever is uncharitable far from me.
  3. Dear St. Anthony, make mine a true, lasting, and vibrant faith.
  4. Good St. Anthony, banish from my heart all that would cloud God’s love.
  5. St. Anthony, encouraged by your gentleness, help me to grow in genuine conversion of heart.
  6. St. Anthony, heal me and obtain for me true love of God and health of mind and soul.
  7. St. Anthony, with my guardian angel, guide me though the perils of this life and keep me safe.
  8. St. Anthony, protect me from the devil’s temptations and obtain for me God’s help.
  9. St. Anthony, healer of the sick, preserve my life and grant me blessings of good health.
  10. Saint of miracles, finder of lost things, help me to discover what is truly important in my life.
  11. St. Anthony, my helper and friend of God, be my defense and security in times of doubt.
  12. St. Anthony and friend of God, I ask your intercession at God’s throne for divine grace.
  13. St. Anthony, I join with you now and with the whole company of heaven in praising the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit forever and ever.  Amen.

Miraculous Responsory

Also known as Si Quaeris Miracula, this prayer is sung regularly at St. Anthony’s basilica in Padua and Tuesdays throughout the world.

If then you ask for miracles,
Death, error, all calamities,
Leprosy and demons fly,
And health succeeds infirmities.

The sea obeys and fetters break,
And lifeless limbs do you restore;
While treasures lost are found again,
When young and old your aid implore.

All dangers vanish at your prayer,
??????????And direst need does quickly flee;
Let those who know your power proclaim,
Let Paduans say, “These are of thee.”

To Father, Son, may glory be
And Holy Spirit, eternally.

Pray for us, blessed Anthony.
Make us worthy of the promises of Christ.

Let us pray.

Lord God, may the votive commemoration of blessed Anthony, your confessor and doctor, be a source of joy for your people.  May they always be strengthened with his spiritual assistance and deserve eternal rewards.  Through Christ our Lord.  Amen.

Litany of the lost

Lord have mercy.  Lord have mercy.
Christ have mercy.  Christ have mercy.
Lord have mercy.  Lord have mercy.

For those of us who have lost…

Our health…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our peace of mind…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our housing…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our financial security…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
A loved one…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our dreams…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our talents…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our initial zeal…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our sobriety…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our faith…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our self-respect…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our perspective…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our innocence…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our independence…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Peace within our families…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Civil peace…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our trust in others…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our virtue…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our home…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
(Add your own particular loss…  St. Anthony, pray for us.)

Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world.  Have mercy on us.
Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world.  Have mercy on us.
Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world.  Have mercy on us.

Let us pray.

All loving God, you have given us St. Anthony, the patron of the lost, as an intercessor of those who are in need of your mercy.  Listen to his voice as he calls out to you on our behalf and grant those things which will help us to grow in your love.  We ask this through Jesus Christ our Lord.  Amen.

Nine days of prayer

FMA-R24-13-a    FMA-R24-13-b    FMA-R24-13-c    FMA-R24-13-d    FMA-B30R-a

FMA-B30R-b    FMA-B30R-1    FMA-B30R-2    FMA-B30R-3    FMA-B30R-4

FMA-B30R-5    FMA-B30R-6    FMA-B30R-7    FMA-B30R-8    FMA-B30R-9

FMA-B30R-10    FMA-B30R-11    FMA-B30R-12    FMA-B30R-c    FMA-B30R-d

St. Anthony litany

From all hardness of heart; from fear, anger, and strife; from every injustice.
St. Anthony, pray for us.

From quarreling and conflict, from envy and jealousy, from every addiction.
St. Anthony, pray for us.

From self-hatred and lack of self-esteem, from bitterness and evil.
St. Anthony, pray for us.

From all deception and dishonesty, from despair and hopelessness.
St. Anthony, pray for us.

That we may grow in the peace, compassion, and generosity of Jesus Christ.
St. Anthony, pray for us.

That we may love our neighbor as ourselves.
St. Anthony, pray for us.

That the Word of God may enlighten our minds and lead us into all truth.
St. Anthony, pray for us.

That we may always advance in the knowledge and love of Jesus Christ.
St. Anthony, pray for us.

Through the intercession of St. Anthony, may almighty God bless us.
In the name of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  Amen.

Thanksgiving

Saint Anthony, father of the poor and comforter of the needy, I thank you for having come to my aid and consoled me so abundantly.  Help me now to grow in love of our merciful Father so that, as you said, the King of Kings may reign in my heart and purify it.  May I live with you the gospel of Christ and grow with you in him, who is the lord.  Amen.

Thirteen Tuesdays

This set of prayers can be recited anytime even though the devotion is a March through June tradition concluding on or before St. Anthony’s feast day, June 13th.

StAnthony-13a      StAnthony-13b      StAnthony-13c      StAnthony-13d      StAnthony-13e      StAnthony-13f

Contact information

The Nine Days of Prayers leaflets are from Franciscan Mission Associates (FMA), P.O. Box 598, Mount Vernon, NY 10551-0598; the St. Anthony litany (52915CV), from the Companions of St. Anthony; and the Thirteen Tuesdays pamphlet, from The Franciscans, St. Anthony’s Guild, 4 Jersey Street, East Rutherford, NJ 07073-1012.

May 31, 2011 

Although my prayer book (Companions of St. Anthony,
n. d.) credits St. Bonaventure with the Miraculous Responsory, Wikiquote attributes the prayer to Julian of Speyer, who composed the sequence circa 1235 (The Raccolta, 1807, p. 531; Benziger Brothers, 1952).

November 9, 2015

“For even now miracles are wrought in the name of Christ, whether by his sacraments or by the prayers or relics of his saints” (St. Augustine).

May 30, 2017

Let us ask Jesus Christ, our lord, to fill us with his mercy so that we may practice compassion with ourselves and others not judging or condemning, but forgiving those who hurt us, helping those who are in need, pardoning all offenders, offering mercy just as God has shown mercy to us (St. Anthony).

June 13, 2017

After you died, St. Anthony, God chose to make your holiness known to the world and to draw people by working miracles in answer to prayers made in your name.  Since then, people have asked God to continue to honor you by working wonders through your intercession.  Those who have experienced the power of prayers offered in your name have told how God has answered them.  God has healed the sick, restored peace of mind, relieved poverty, and granted favors of all kinds.  Now in this time of need I ask you, St. Anthony, to pray with me for the things I desire.  I pray that God may again give us a sign of loving care and providence and that, through you, God may draw us all to the fullness of life and love in eternity (Fr. Jack Wintz, OFM in Saint Anthony of Padua: His Life, Legends and Devotions).

O the mercy of God!  Never does he refuse to be merciful, but is ever present to those who turn to him (St. Anthony of Padua).

Links of interest…  American Catholic…  Companions of St. Anthony: about St. Anthonyhomeprayer…  Do you need a miracle in your life…  Father Peter Mary Rookey’s miracle prayer (YouTube)…  Franciscan Mission Associates: prayer requests / quarterly newsletter / seasonal devotions…  He dwells among us…  Help from heaven…  How St. Anthony found me…  Messenger of St. Anthony…  Miracles (all the time) & evangelization…  Nine Tuesdays devotion…  Si quaeris miracula…  St. Anthony: about (more) / “ark of the covenant” (index / more) / biography / glorious feast day / mail deliveries (S.A.G.) / miracles & traditions / shrine / wonder worker…  St. Anthony’s Guild: devotions / ecards / prayer requests / prayers…  St. Anthony of Padua: His life, legends, & devotions…  St. Bonaventure…  Why pray novenas…  YouTube: Hymn to St. Anthony of Padua (composed by Father Ike Carpio, OFM+; sung by Brother Ariel Manga, OFM) / Si quaeris miracula (sung by Padre Maurizio nella Basilica di San Francesco a Bologna)…

WP posts…   Budding relationships…  Franciscan experience…  Holy relics…  Making meaning…  My Franciscan Crown…  Prayer…  Promise of hope…  Saint of miracles…  Soulful…  St. Anthony…  St. Anthony chaplets…  St. Anthony Claret…  St. Felix…  St. Jude novena…  Tony’s big day…  Two letters…  Two prompt replies

2 Responses

  1. Yes, miracles happen everyday. I collected many testimonies of miracles that were granted to myself, to family, friends, relatives and many other people and put them together in a book.

    Below are two of the stories in the book:

    “The missing music CD”
    I had a treasured five CD collection of music by a famous Australian singing group. One of the CDs of the collection was missing and no amount of searching could find it. I had checked the CD cases several times and it was not in any of them. After a week I checked the CD cases once more, in order to find out which one of the five CDs was missing. Armed with this knowledge I went outside to say the Miraculous Responsory of Saint Anthony. About half an hour later I had another look in all the CD cases and to my astonishment it was there! I quizzed the family and none of them had put it there.

    “The Word Processor”
    I pray for the Holy Souls in Purgatory and also ask their intercession in all my needs. Since leaving school, I have progressed through various technologies, a manual typewriter, an electric typewriter, a Word Processor (a machine that looks and functions like an electronic typewriter, but is also able to store text data onto a floppy disk and print the data out), then I went onto computers, which our family has upgraded from time to time. The Word Processor was functional until a few years ago and then the disk drive stopped working, effectively reducing the machine to an electronic typewriter.

    I have a lot of files stored on floppy disks for the Word Processor, which I wanted to have a look at and make an assessment of. I prayed for a solution and a lady we know said that her husband had once repaired these machines for a living. He would have done that for us, but the replacement parts are simply not available and no one sells this equipment anymore. I was told by another mechanic, that even if the parts were available that it would be very costly to repair the Word Processor, (out of all portion to its worth.) In short the situation was hopeless. I put the broken Word Processor into the shed for storage, in case something could be done in the future and continued to pray. I prayed for the Holy Souls in Purgatory a few days ago and my brother telephoned me. He had just purchased a house for his family.

    The previous owners of the house left a few things in the shed that my brother and his family were allowed to have. My brother said that there was “an electric typewriter” in the shed and asked me if I wanted to have it. I started asking my brother questions about the typewriter. It turned out to be an upgraded model of my word processor. It is even the same brand. This is important because the floppy disks were formatted for this particular brand only and are incompatible with other brands of Word Processors. The Word Processor that my brother gave me, is in an excellent condition and can read the files on the floppy disks. It had one part missing (a plastic knob to turn the carriage), so I took that part from my own Word Processor and put it on the one that my brother gave me.

    The word processor prints well. Very few people would even require such a piece of equipment and they are almost impossible to obtain. My brother had no idea that I had been praying for exactly this. He showed it to his wife and asked her what he should do with this ‘typewriter.’ She advised him to throw it out! Then he thought of me and phoned. It is strange that he did this, because he is well aware of the technology that I have at my disposal, and that would have made anyone else think that I had absolutely no need for this piece of ancient equipment. My sister-in-law was astounded when I came to try the word processor out, with a box of disks to test the equipment. She had no idea that it was not just a typewriter. The intercession of the Holy Souls in Purgatory for their benefactors is amazing.

    The book can be read free on-line at the following link on my website:
    http://missionbell.homestead.com/HelpFromHeavenBook.html

  2. Thanks for the inspirational anecdotes! That’s quite a collection. And then some!

    I’ve read your first book, perused your second, and checked out your homepage, blog, and links.

    Like, wow. That’s quite a worthwhile effort overall, one that my pea brain’s telling me I’ve come across before.

    Can you imagine the tomes we’d have if each of us recorded a personal miracle a day in a 365-day journal (or a regular spiral notebook)? Wouldn’t that be something?

    Thanks sooo much for taking the time to share!

    God bless you abundantly!

Leave a Reply

