St. Mary’s

StMC62312-83

Last Saturday we attended evening Mass at St. Mary’s because Albert Garcia, Brother Knight and longtime parishioner whom we recently met, enthusiastically invited us to see the changes in the church since its remodeling.  Although I’d talked to Steven about St. Mary’s over the years— prayer meetings; Sister Margaret; our beloved Monsignor, “Father Gus;” Masses; teaching CCE; Segy’s first communion; and so much more— he really had no idea what the church looked like or even where it was located in town.

    StMC62312-57

       

St. Mary’s

I hadn’t been to St. Mary’s since Fall 2005, so I had no idea what to expect when Steven opened the door for us to enter.  What a transformation!  The once dark-carpeted vestibule, now spacious and brightly lit, is impeccably tiled; and a beautiful glass-and-wood wall divides the entryway from the pewed section.

“La casa de Dios y la puerta del cielo”

Within moments parishioners and visitors alike can walk in, brush off the outside world, acclimate to the silence, and proceed to the heart of the church.

       

      

   

       

   

       

       

Prayers

Daily prayer of Our Lady…  I prostrate myself in your presence, O God Most High, and I give you thanks and praise for your immutable being, for your infinite perfections, and for having created me out of nothing.

I acknowledge myself as your creature and as the work of your hands.  I bless you, and I adore you.  I give you honor, magnificence, and divinity as the supreme Lord and creator of myself and of all that exists.

I raise up my spirit to place it into your hands.  I offer myself with profound humility and resignation to you,StMC62312- 76 and I ask you to dispose of me according to your holy will during this day and during all the days of my life.  I ask you to teach me to fulfill whatever would be to your greater pleasure.

I consult you.  I ask your advice.  I ask your permission.  I ask your blessing on everything that I do today.  I ask your permission to use my body as your temple, my mind as the mind of Christ, my soul as the souls of Jesus and Mary.  [I ask your permission to use] my memory to remember only you; my will to use it in conformity to your will; and my understanding to understand you, your wisdom, and my brothers and sisters (The Work of God).

Morning consecration to Mary…  My Queen, My Mother, I offer myself entirely to you; and to show my devotion to you, I offer you this day my eyes, my ears, my mouth, my heart, my whole being without reserve.

Wherefore, good Mother, as I am your own, keep me, and guard me as your property and possession (Mary Pages).

StMC62312a    StMC62312b

September 5, 2015

“Kind words are short and easy to speak, but their echoes are truly endless” (Bl. Teresa of Calcutta).

September 7, 2015

“Only after the Last Judgment will Mary get any rest; from now until then, she is much too busy with her children” (St. John Vianney).

November 21, 2015

From Mary we learn to surrender to God’s will in all things.  From Mary we learn to trust even when all hope seems gone.  From Mary we learn to love Christ her Son and the Son of God.  For Mary is not only the Mother of God, she is Mother of the Church as well (St. John Paul II).

February 6, 2016

“When we feel our cross weighing upon us, let us have recourse to Mary, whom the Church calls the consoler of the afflicted” (St. Alphonsus).

January 1, 2017

“Mary’s task as Mother of God and mother of humans has always been to lead her human children to her divine Son” (Catherine de Hueck Doherty).

StMC62312-3

Pdf files…  MMM novena (pdf) / Stations: 1-7 & 8-14

Links of interest…  Basilica of Saint Mary: livestream (recordings)…  St. Mary, Mother of the Church: facebook / historyMass times

WP posts…  Angels keeping watch…  Marian devotions…  Our Lady…  Repeated prayers