September 2023

The Holy Angel wooden sculpture from Jerusalem

A lifetime ago I attended a catechists’ Christmas luncheon and, in the spirit of the season, mentioned that I very much wanted to be an angel.  Not a saint, an angel.  Of course, the director overheard and immediately intruded into my personal space.

Don’t you know that angels were never human?  That they’re nothing more than God’s helpers.  That God loves us more than angels.  You should want to be a saint!

That night I dreamt I was standing alone in a rather large field, like the one at the airport near mom’s house.  Suddenly, I was jolted from my reverie by the loud flapping of very powerful wings.  I turned my head slightly and—  Oh, my, gosh!  What a sight!

As dusk had become nighttime, angels were landing all around me.  I couldn’t believe my eyes!  A whole field of willowy elegance in white satin or chiffon with waistbands in various hues!  Some angels landed as others rose with quiet grace, their countenance peaceful yet intense.  Gorgeous beings, they were totally oblivious to my standing in their midst.  And, I was totally entranced!

Facing west again, I sensed something wonderful near me.  I turned to my right and there, not two feet away, stood the most beautiful angel I could ever have imagined!  He must’ve been eight or ten feet tall, wearing a resplendent white gown with a bright, medium-teal satin sash.  His hair was brown; his face, masculine yet soft-featured.  Poised and self-confident, he was so focused on straightening his sash that he never once turned to look at me.  And, everywhere, there was silence, except for the flapping wings that spanned eight feet or more.

The angel beside me, much taller than the others, seemed to be in charge; yet everyone came and went at will.  Did they communicate telepathically?  Did they work in shifts?  Did they return for the night, like the two angels that God sends to earth daily to collect petitions and thanksgiving and praise?  And, did they fly off on emergencies each time I sensed urgency?  I was so in awe yet so at peace that I never thought, much less dared, to speak.  All I could do was simply be.

My eyes water when I think about the angels I was privileged to share space with.  What’s more is that, even now, the dream is just as vivid, the sensations just as real.  Words elude me, though.  Sharing what I felt is as difficult as describing what I saw.  And, I haven’t stopped looking for the beautiful angel with the medium-teal sash, especially when I come across angel sites online, prayer cards and books, statues, and stained-glass windows.  So, I’m biding my time, enjoying my angel gifts as reminders of the extraordinary field of angels in my dream decades ago.

September mailing (English & Spanish)

  A full-sized wooden angel holding a concertinaThree small Christmas angels in different posesA full-sized angel holding a concertinaThree small Christmas angels in different poses

two-toned stained-glass angel with pearlized face & metal halo    acrylic angel with fine-metal bodice, white rhinestone face & metal halo

translucent (top) / transparent (bottom) glass angel / right: floating translucent angel etched in thick glass    two-toned stained-glass angel with pearlized face & metal halo / right: acrylic angel with fine-metal bodice, white rhinestone face & metal halo

Left: Ceramic angel with a cello / right: ceramic angel holding a mandolin    Left: Ceramic angel holding a flute / right: ceramic angel holding a book

https://flandin505.files.wordpress.com/2023/09/pa9623b.jpg    Left: Ceramic angel holding a flute / right: ceramic angel holding a book

Prayerful thoughts

The angel is the daily gateway to transcendence, to the encounter with the Father; that is, the angel helps [us] to go forward because he looks upon the Father, and he knows the way.   Let us not forget these companions along the journey (Pope Francis).

If the fury of your enemies is great and their numbers overwhelming, the love which God holds for you is infinitely greater.  The angel who protects you and the saints who intercede for you are more numerous (Dom Lorenzo Scupoli).

“Our prayers are so dear to God that he has appointed the angels to present them to him as soon as they come forth from our mouths” (St. Alphonsus Liguori).

.

Blessings 2024…  April 2024…  February 2024…  January 2024…  March 2024

Blessings 2023…  April 2023…  August 2023…  Christ’s glory…  Christmas 2023…  December 2023…  February 2023…  Flame within…  God’s gift…  January 2023…  July 2023…  June 2023…  Love’s heart…  March 2023…  May 2023…  November 2023…  October 2023

Blessings 2022…  August 2022…  December 2022…  Journey’s light…  July 2022…  June 2022…  Kiss of God…  May 2022…  Mourning joy…  November 2022…  October 2022…  October saints…  Presence…  September 2022…  Sight…  Sitka’s St. Michael…  St. Michael prayers

One Response

  1. The expression on the angel’s face is simply angelic: serene, happy, gazing at something beautiful. And the artist also captured the joy of feeling blessed.

    For that matter, who’s to say that shiny specs swirling in sunlight streaming through a window aren’t angels? God made all of creation from sub-atomic particles to galaxies far away, so why can’t dust motes be angels frolicking about in the sun?

    Remember the question: “How many angels can dance on the head of a pin?” Who says angels have to be big? And can’t they change shape or size? After all, they can be whatever God calls them to be as they keep watch over us.

    Angels are channels between us and God so, is the angel blissfully gazing at God?

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.