June 2023

Joseph & Mary holding the Child Jesus in her arms

Growing up I knew about God and the Holy Family but not really about the saints, so maybe I was supposed to learn about them on my own?

Jesus, son of God and son of Mary, bless our family.  Graciously inspire in us the unity, peace, and mutual love that you found in your own family in the little town of Nazareth.  Mary, mother of Jesus and our mother, nourish our family with your faith and your love.  Keep us close to your son, Jesus, in all our sorrows and joys.  Joseph, foster-father to Jesus, guardian and spouse of Mary, keep our family safe from harm.  Help us in all times of discouragement or anxiety.  Holy family of Nazareth, make our family one with you.  Help us to be instruments of peace.  Grant that love, strengthened by grace, may prove mightier than all the weaknesses and trials through which our families sometimes pass.  May we always have God at the center of our hearts and homes until we are all one family, happy and at peace in our true home with you (Missionaries of the Holy Family).

St. Martin of Tours  As a child I often wondered about the decal on the wall above the front door.  We didn’t have pictures on display, so the man on the horse had to have been special.  But, who was he— and why was he slashing his red cloak in two?  Although I never thought to ask then, I now know that St. Martin of Tours is known for social justice and racial harmony.

Lord God of hosts, you clothed your servant, Martin, the soldier, with the spirit of sacrifice and set him as a bishop in your Church to be a defender of the Catholic faith.  Give us grace to follow in his holy steps that at the last we may be found clothed with righteousness in the dwellings of peace.

St. Jude Thaddeus…  Mom once took my younger brother and me to visit an outdoor shrine.  “Look!” she said.  “St. Jude has only one horn left to show that his evil gave way to good.  He betrayed Jesus, but God’s unconditional love transformed him; and now he’s the saint of impossible causes.”  At age nine, the story made no sense but, years later, I learned that Judas Iscariot is sometimes confused with St. Jude, who, at times, is depicted with a tongue of fire over his head to acknowledge his presence at Pentecost.

St. Jude, through prayer you praised God for the wonderful works of Jesus.  You asked God for the strength to meet the challenges of your apostolate.  You put your trust in God’s mercy, believing firmly that God loved you and understood your joys and sorrows, your hopes and fears, and your triumphs and failures.  You understood that nothing is impossible for God.  We ask you to pray for us now before the Most High so that we, too, might be filled with God’s saving power; understand God’s will for us; and faithfully place ourselves in God’s loving hands.

St. Anthony of Padua…  At age thirteen, my great-aunt, Tía Queta, introduced me to her beloved saint.  A faithful companion, St. Anthony has inspired me to venerate the Child Jesus.

Holy St. Anthony, your deep faith in Jesus Christ comforted your heart, especially during times of trial and distress.  Help me to grow in faith, so I may experience peace of mind and heart in my present needs.  (State request.)  Free me from undue anxiety, needless worry, and burdensome fears.  Grant me sure confidence, unfailing trust in God’s loving mercy, and daily serenity.

St. Thérèse…  Over the years, too, I learned that St. Anthony is often displayed near St. Thérèse, since they’re both closely affiliated with the Holy Infant.  The church in Budapest, Hungary, for instance, has the two saints facing each other from opposite sides of the center aisle.

Lord, grant that I may always allow myself to be guided by you, always follow your plans, and perfectly accomplish your holy will.  Grant that in all things, great and small, today and all the days of my life, I may do whatever you require of me.  Help me respond to the slightest prompting of your grace so that I may be your trustworthy instrument for your honor.  May your will be done in time and in eternity by me, in me, and through me.

Looking back, I’m grateful that God’s master plan for me has included not just a heartfelt devotion to the Child Jesus, but also budding relationships with his beloved saints who are always ready, willing, and able to intercede for us any time we choose to call on them.

Divine Infant Jesus, I know you love me and would never leave me.  I thank you for your close presence in my life.  Miraculous Infant, I believe in your promise of peace, blessings, and freedom from want.  I place every need and care in your hands.  Lord Jesus, may I always trust in your generous mercy and love.  I want to honor and praise you now and forever.

June mailing (English & Spanish)

Joseph & Mary holding the Child Jesus in her armsText: St. Jude, St. Anthony, St. ThereseJoseph & Mary holding the Child Jesus in her armsText: St. Jude, St. Anthony, St. Therese

Top left: St. Martin of Tours / top right: St. Martin's relicTop: St. Anthony, St. Michael, St. Therese / bottom left: side altar with Infant of Prague altar / bottom right: side altar with two angels on either side of the relics & saint statues above & belowTop left: St. Martin of Tours / top right: St. Martin's relicTop: St. Anthony, St. Michael, St. Therese / bottom left: side altar with Infant of Prague altar / bottom right: side altar with two angels on either side of the relics & saints statues above & below

Left: side altar with statues of St. Therese, St. Anne with Mary, & St. Anthony / right: statue of St. Anne & Mary reading from a scroll    Left: St. Anthony of Padua / right: St. Therese of Lisieux

Left: side altar with statues of St. Therese, St. Anne with Mary, & St. Anthony / right: statue of St. Anne & Mary reading from a scroll    Left: St. Anthony of Padua / right: St. Therese of Lisieux

(Prayers without citations are from the internet.)

.

Blessings 2024…  April 2024…  February 2024…  January 2024…  March 2024

Blessings 2023…  April 2023…  August 2023…  Christ’s glory…  Christmas 2023…  December 2023…  February 2023…  Flame within…  God’s gift…  January 2023…  July 2023…  Love’s heart…  March 2023…  May 2023…  November 2023…  October 2023…  September 2023

Blessings 2022…  August 2022…  December 2022…  Journey’s light…  July 2022…  June 2022…  Kiss of God…  May 2022…  Mourning joy…  November 2022…  October 2022…  October saints…  Presence…  September 2022…  Sight…  Sitka’s St. Michael…  St. Michael prayers

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.