August 2023

Fresco depicting God & the Holy Spirit above with Jesus below among the gathered

Prayer transcends space, time, boundaries, and even religious objects and books that we hold dear.  St. Teresa of Ávila wrote that our prayers stem from either noisy aqueducts (learned) or quiet springs (intuited).  Yet, based on personal experience, we’ve discovered that, when we want or need God most, the simplest prayer— natural, spontaneous, heartfelt—  gushes forth, and we “talk to God as a friend talks with a friend” (Fr. Bede Jarrett).

The following homily, delivered by Fr. Dominic at St. John the Evangelist Church in Greenfield, WI on August 9, 2023, was recorded, transcribed, and edited (Lanoux, August 18, 2023).

Try to imagine yourself like the woman whose daughter is sick in today’s gospel.  She approaches Jesus, who ignores her.  How would you react?  Would you feel frustrated and say, “To heck with you?”  Yet, this woman refuses to give up!

Jesus tells her, “It’s not right to throw table scraps to the dogs,” to which the woman retorts, ”But even the dogs eat the scraps that fall from the table.”  So, Jesus, touched by her faith, pays her the best compliment: “Woman, great is your faith!”

When I turn to God in prayer, I oftentimes wonder if God is getting somewhat old or hard of hearing because I pray, I ask, I try to persevere, and nothing seems to happen.  You and I, being human, when we ask, we’re just like children.  When they ask, they expect to receive right away.  “Mom, give it to me!”  You don’t always give in right away to what your children ask of you— do you?  Your reason, at times, is to make them wait.  I wonder if God is testing my faith in him, my perseverance, to recognize my dependence on him.  Whom do I trust more— myself or God?  And then, before I ask, I wonder, Is now the right time?  Or, should I ask a little later?

I feel I’m such a child when I deal with God because, indirectly, I’m telling him, “Hey, listen!  I know what’s good for me,” instead of humbly saying, “Lord, thank you for loving this sinner.”  Think about it.  I, a sinner, demand from God.  Can’t I trust God enough after what he did for me already?  God sent his Son not to party, but to die on the cross so that I could be saved.

Think about it.  We see the immediate but don’t think of the history of God’s love in our lives.  Yes, we trust him, but we always set our own conditions.  I ask, and I want.  When there’s this kind of demand, it’s difficult to think of humility.  At times we can be so  arrogant.  Do I recognize my dependence on God?  Do I go to God humbly, recognizing my poverty, recognizing that there isn’t much that I can do without God?  What a difference to approach God with gratefulness and thanksgiving as opposed to demanding, as if I’m entitled to what I’m asking?  I, a creature that demands so much from God.  And then, perhaps, after I receive what I’m asking, I don’t even bother to say “thank you.”

Humility, arrogance.  Two different attitudes, totally different.  One is acceptable to God; the other speaks of pride, not to say something else.  What is my attitude when I pray?   Do I pray because I depend on God?  “Please, Lord, even the dogs eat the scraps that fall from their master’s table.”  What an example of faith and humility!  The woman doesn’t give up, so Jesus grants her request.  May I never forget that God is God, and I am simply a creature.  God bless you.

August mailing (English & Spanish)

Photo of God & the Holy Spirit (above) with Jesus among the gathered (below)Praying handsGod & the Holy Spirit (above) with Jesus among the gathered (below)Praying hands

Ordinary Time altarOrdinary Time altarONE81623-S1Ordinary Time altar

Left: Risen Jesus on the cross / right: sconce lamp    Left: Jesus on the cross with stained-glass tondo in the background / right: Pietá within a marble altar setting

Left: Risen Jesus on the cross / right: sconce lamp    Left: Jesus on the cross with stained-glass tondo in the background / right: Pietá within a marble altar setting

Prayerful thoughts

At the beginning of each prayer period, Ignatius advises that we pray for a certain grace, or gift from God: “Ask God our Lord for what I want and desire.”  Simply naming what we deeply desire opens us to receive the gift God wants to give us.  Moreover, praying for a grace helps us to notice when we actually receive that gift later on.  In this way, we realize that the grace is not of our own making but is the result of God’s generosity to us.  Finally, praying out of our desires grounds us in the present, keeping our prayer real (SE 48; Kevin O’Brien, SJ).

Father, rather than asking, “Why me?” I want to thank you for your greatness and majesty today.  I want to entrust my burdens to your care, knowing that you have a perfect plan for my life (the Word among us, June 2013, p. 25).

God answers every prayer, but sometimes the answer is no.  And, if it is no, we’re better off— if we love God.  That’s why Jesus wants us to say, “Thy will be done” in the Our Father.  That is the sure way to happiness— the will of God (Fr. T. G. Morrow).

“It is our part to seek, his to grant what we ask; ours to make a beginning, his to bring it to completion; ours to offer what we can, his to finish what we cannot” (St. Jerome).

When we’re anxious or distressed we question where Jesus is, even though we know he watches over us.  We want an immediate response, but we should take comfort in his lack of urgency.  That’s the surest sign that the situation isn’t as bad as it seems.  Calm my fears, Lord, and help me to trust in your protection (Patricia Russell).

.

Blessings 2024…  April 2024…  February 2024…  January 2024…  March 2024

Blessings 2023…  April 2023…  Christ’s glory…  Christmas 2023…  December 2023…  February 2023…  Flame within…  God’s gift…  January 2023…  July 2023…  June 2023…  Love’s heart…  March 2023…  May 2023…  November 2023…  October 2023…  September 2023

Blessings 2022…  August 2022…  December 2022…  Journey’s light…  July 2022…  June 2022…  Kiss of God…  May 2022…  Mourning joy…  November 2022…  October 2022…  October saints…  Presence…  September 2022…  Sight…  Sitka’s St. Michael…  St. Michael prayers

One Response

  1. My truly meaningful prayer moments are silent: feeling my breath, letting the noise and clutter in my mind settle. It most commonly happens when I am immersed in nature: sitting in the yard after working, or in a park or woods somewhere. God’s creations encourage listening and becoming one with them. There are no “real” prayers, just a contemplative participation in the universe that God has given us. Any petitions are for others who need intercessions. There is no particular sense of self, but an attempt to pass solace and support to those whom I know seek comfort and help. But, mostly, my prayer is a variety of thanks. For my life, as flawed as it has been. For the ability to do things, still— slower, yes, but doing them. For my eyesight to behold the flowers, the birds, the glories of sky, and things growing. For the grace to feel God in all things. I don’t need or particularly desire bells, incense, beads, a grand cathedral, or to be on my knees in the pews. I know peace, and I give gratitude to God for his goodness and generosity in giving us this world and his Son.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.