November 2022

Panna Maria, TX - Immaculate Conception - a "painted church" before Mass

November is a time of remembrance and gratitude.

This homily, delivered by Fr. Wieslaw Iwaniec at Immaculate Conception in Panna Maria, TX on October 9, 2022, was recorded, transcribed, and edited (Lanoux; November 1, 2022).

Several decades ago in Poland, one of the local newspapers published a letter from an older woman.  Let me first explain that, in those days, it was common for three generations— parents, children, and grandchildren— to live together.

For twelve years I was a maid in my son’s home.  He was very well educated and a very good man.  There was no room for me, so my bed was placed in the kitchen.  I was the first one to wake up and the last one to go to bed.  I was responsible for everything: the cleaning, doing laundry, cooking, buying groceries.  When I turned seventy-five, I got sick, bedridden.  My son didn’t like the situation, and my daughter-in-law made lots of noise in the kitchen.  She couldn’t stand having to do all the chores that I used to do.  I didn’t say a word, but I cried at night.  A week later my son told me, “Mom, I’ve made arrangements for you to be with other elderly people.”  Then, two days later, he dropped me off at the facility.  He came to see me one time.  “Mom, you know I’m very busy.”  My granddaughter came to see me twice.  When I got sick and could no longer work, my only son kicked me out of his house.

What ingratitude!  There’s a saying: How is it that mothers can raise eight or ten children, but eight or ten children cannot take care of one mother?  Ingratitude.

This brings us to today’s gospel.  St. Luke tells us that, as Jesus made his way to Jerusalem where he would die on the cross for the salvation of humanity, he met many, including ten lepers who shouted out to him.  “Jesus!  Master!  Have pity on us!”  Our Lord was moved with compassion.  “Your faith has made you well.”  But only one, a Samaritan, thanked and praised Jesus for the healing miracle.

Do you know that, when our Lord was interrogated by Pilate and Herod, he did not complain.  When he was sentenced to death, he did not complain.  When he was beaten thirty-nine times, he did not complain.  When he was stoned and the crown of thorns was forced down on his head, he did not complain.  When they nailed him to the cross, he did not complain.  When he was dying on the cross, he did not complain.  But, today’s gospel tells us that Jesus expressed the pain in his heart and soul.  Ten were cleansed.  Were they not?  Ingratitude. 

In last Sunday’s gospel we heard that, before Jesus entered the city of Jerusalem, he wept.  “Jerusalem, Jerusalem.”  Then, he did everything he could for those he met along the way.  Yet, he knew that the same people who were glorifying him would be shouting “Crucify him!” just days later.

We can all relate.  When you give your all to your children and grandchildren— even to your own spouse— no appreciation, no gratitude.  When God blesses us with extraordinary gifts, our faith is supposed to flourish.  But, are we people of gratitude?

Today we give thanks and praise to God for this land of opportunity.  It is up to us to keep the flame of faith growing bright, especially in these challenging times when there is so much confusion.  Remember that we can show gratitude for all the blessings God has bestowed on us.  Give testimony.  If we are faithful, God remains faithful because he cannot deny himself.  Jesus said, “Acknowledge me before others, and I will acknowledge you.”  May God grant our ancestors eternal life, and may he strengthen us by his grace that we will never lose what we have received.  May the testimony of our ancestors inspire us and all new generations.

November mailing (English & Spanish)

Top: photo of "painted church" lit up before morning Mass. Bottom; homily on thanksgiving & praise - E1Top: continuation of homily on thanksgiving & praise. Bottom: prayerful quotes - E2Top: photo of "painted church" lit up before morning Mass. Bottom: homily on thanksgiving & praise - S2Top: continuation of homily on thanksgiving & praise. Bottom: prayerful quotes

Gratitude card: altar photos, prayers, & quotes - E1    Gratitude card: altar photos, prayers, & quotes - E2

Gratitude card: altar photos, prayers, & quotes - S1    Gratitude card: altar photos, prayers, & quotes - S2

Prayerful thoughts

And be thankful.  Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, as in all wisdom you teach and admonish one another, singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God.  And whatever you do in word or in deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him (Colossians 3:15-21).

Father, teach me to sing your praises no matter what my circumstances are.  I know your love will never fail (the Word among us, September 2013, p. 31).

“Remember with thanksgiving the blessings and providence of God [and] glorify God, giving him from the heart praises that rise on high” (St. Anthony of Egypt).

.

Blessings 2024…  April 2024…  February 2024…  January 2024…  March 2024

Blessings 2023…   April 2023…  August 2023…  Christ’s glory…  Christmas 2023…  December 2023…  February 2023…  Flame within…  God’s gift…  January 2023…  July 2023…  June 2023…  Love’s heart…  March 2023…  May 2023…  November 2023…  October 2023…  September 2023

Blessings 2022…  August 2022…  December 2022…  Journey’s light…  July 2022…  June 2022…  Kiss of God…  May 2022…  Mourning joy…  October 2022…  October saints…  Presence…  September 2022…  Sight…  Sitka’s St. Michael…  St. Michael prayers

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.