Noon visit

Driving up Leopard Street toward the courthouse Monday morning, I could see the cathedral in the distance.  You realize, don’t you, I told the Infant, that I won’t be able to go visit with you today.  Last time, I didn’t finish with jury duty till five; so there’s no way I’ll be making it to noon Mass if that happens.  And I was at peace with that.

Teresa of Avila kept me company as I occupied my assigned seat, but sleepiness hit hard at eleven.  Since I’d been anxious about exiting SPID at Crosstown I hadn’t slept much during the night, and only the dread of nodding off in public was keeping me awake.

Thankfully, the next to the last group was called fifteen minutes later.  I was glad to be four of eighty on Panel J.  Walking from one end of the jury selection room to the other I went from wilting, wilting, wilting to energized.  Then, within five minutes, we were out the door with written instructions to call the next day.

By eleven-thirty-five, I was at the cathedral with half an hour to spare.  Church was dark except for the sunlit stained-glass windows.  Since I couldn’t very well read my book, I took photos as others arrived in time for twelve-o-five Mass.

And what a Mass!  Beautiful music, wonderful homily.  Fr. Pete’s message was perfect.  “We have the gift of everlasting life.”

   

       

   

   

       

      

      

      

       

       

       

       

Prayers to the Holy Trinity

I praise you, Father all-powerful.  I praise you, Divine Son, our lord and savior.  I praise you, Spirit of love and consolation.  One God, three persons, triune unity, be near me in the temple of my soul.  Draw me to share in your life and love.  In your kindness grant to me and to my family the riches of your mercy, and a share in your blessing, that we may come to the glory of your kingdom and rejoice in loving you for all eternity (iBreviary 373).

Reparation…  O Most Holy Trinity, Father, Son and Holy Spirit, I adore Thee profoundly.  I offer Thee the most precious Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of Jesus Christ present in all the tabernacles of the world, in reparation for the outrages, sacrileges and indifferences by which He is offended.  By the infinite merits of the Sacred Heart of Jesus and the Immaculate Heart of Mary I beg the conversion of poor sinners (Fatima Family Apostolate).

December 12, 2012

“The pure soul is a beautiful rose, and the three divine persons descend from heaven to inhale its fragrance” (St. John Vianney).

May 26, 2013

My God, Blessed Trinity!  Draw from my poor being what most contributes to your glory, and do with me what you wish both now and in eternity (Bl. Elizabeth of the Trinity).

August 6, 2015

“The glory that shone around the disciples on the mount of the Transfiguration prefigures the contemplation of God in eternity” (Dionysius).

April 20, 2016

When it’s God who is speaking… the proper way to behave is to imitate someone who has an irresistible curiosity and who listens at keyholes.  You must listen to everything God says at the keyhole of your heart (St. John Vianney).

July 23, 2016

“Let everyone who has the grace of intelligence therefore fear that, because of it, he will be judged more heavily if he is negligent” (St. Brigid of Sweden).

May 26, 2017

Almighty, eternal, just, and merciful God, grant us in our misery that we may do for your sake alone what we know you want us to do and always what pleases you so that, cleansed and enlightened interiorly and fired with the ardor of the Holy Spirit, we may be able to follow in the footsteps of your Son, our Lord, Jesus Christ (Pat McCloskey, OFM, in Peace and Good: Through the Year with Francis of Assisi).

June 2, 2017

The only thing that matters in life is doing the will of God.  Once you are doing the will of God, then everything else matters (Hubert van Zeller in Holiness for Housewives).

June 3, 2017

Everything came into being through the life-giving dynamic of the one who is Love.  God is never-ending and unchanging.  As it was then, it is now.  This Trinity of Persons, the infinitude of love, seeks to share the life-giving dynamic of their loving union with others— to “go outward” to others who will love back in the same self-donative way.  This is gratuitous action on God’s part.  Being the infinitude of love, the Divine Persons have no need of more love, but they seek to share with others their divine pleasure.  And so God created the heavens and the earth and beings with whom he might share his very life (Johnnette S. Benkovic & Thomas K. Sullivan in The Rosary: Your Weapon for Spiritual Warfare).

June 11, 2017

“You, O eternal Trinity, are a deep ocean into which the more I penetrate, the more I discover; and the more I discover, the more I seek you” (St. Catherine of Sienna).

CCC42511-60

CCC42511-114

Pdf file…  Corpus Christi Cathedral (guide, six pages)

Links of interest…  Catholic Communications Network…  Corpus Christi Cathedral: diocese / home / landmark / marker / TV Mass / TX State Historical Association / windows…  Finding God’s presence in prayer…  God-sized vision…  Pentecost: A new revelation of God…  Holy Trinity: devotions / prayers…  Russian icon that reveals the mystery of the Trinity…  Seek God in your soul…  Solemnity of the Most Holy Trinity…  Transfiguration: meeting God face to faceof the Lord Jesus

WP posts…  Angels keeping watch…  Heart of hearts…  Heart’s desire…  In the pink…  Letter to Santa…  Multicultural Mass…  Sacred Heart Church (CCTX)…  Saturday evening Mass…  Soulful