Sacred Heart Church

SHC31510-48

Yesterday I spent the day at the county courthouse.  Having been assigned to a jury panel on the eighth floor, I took the elevator with mixed anticipation.

Stepping onto the hallway, I turned left and walked to the window.  I wanted to see the roof of the cathedral a few blocks away.  Satisfied, I walked to the opposite end of the hallway nearer the courtroom where I’d be most of the day.  Looking out the window from there, I spotted another beautiful church top and asked, “Does anyone know the name of that church?” but got no response.

After lunch, one of the jurors spoke to me from across the narrow hallway.  “Remember you asked about that church this morning?  It’s Sacred Heart on Comanche Street.”

I smilingly thanked him and decided that, no matter what time we were dismissed, I’d stop by for a visit before heading home.

At the church

SHC31510-45I parked on the side street away from the front entrance.  A woman and her son were getting into their vehicle, so I hurried over to ask if the church was open.

“Unfortunately, the church is locked.  These are different times… not safe to keep churches open at all hours.  But, if you walk in through that gate and through that door,” she said, pointing the way, “you’ll find the chapel.  That’s where we often come to pray.”

“Thank you!”

She looked on until I opened the door to the chapel.

I’d waited six long hours to get there, but I’d been ready since the night before when I’d placed my Coolpix in my tote bag.

Purposeful visit

SHC31510-5Walking into the darkened chapel, I noticed the woman writing in the book of petitions.  She was so engrossed in her thoughts that she never once looked up to see anyone enter.  The man, too, was deeply in prayer.  I did my best not to disturb them, although I did meet the woman, Esmeralda, afterwards when she asked why I was taking photos.

We talked at length about prayer, faith, petitions and praise, and why she visits the chapel.

“I like to be spontaneous.  This morning I got the notion to come here after my doctor’s visit this afternoon, so here I am.”  Esmeralda enjoys the chapel’s quiet peacefulness before returning to her hometown.

“I think God planted that thought in both of us today,” I enthused.

Esmeralda agreed.  She’d wanted a photo of the lifelike Christ icon for some time, so I was glad to oblige.

We exchanged information, and then she asked me to pray for her and for her son.  “My son’s a pharmacist, but he has such a bad case of psoriasis that he can’t get work,” Esmeralda explained.

“I’ll keep both of you in my thoughts and prayers, and I’ll add your names to our church blog’s petitions page.”

We hugged goodbye, and I remained a while longer, finishing the entry I’d started before Esmeralda had approached me.

Treasure trove

I’m always amazed at God’s impeccable timing and his sense of humor.  He leaves me treasures here and there to keep me actively engaged in what I’ve come to call my Easter egg hunt in life.

Yesterday’s time spent at the courthouse led me to Sacred Heart Church.  So, yes.  I found another treasure and got what I wanted, even though the church was locked.

The sneak peek through the glass wall that separates the chapel from the main church was priceless, even though I would’ve wanted to photograph the Stations of the Cross painted on the walls and the arched ceilings.  But I suppose it was God’s way of whetting my appetite until I return there for Mass, take more photos, and discover something— and/or someone— as I did yesterday.

???????????????????????????????        SHC31510-6        SHC31510-9

???????????????????????????????        ???????????????????????????????        ???????????????????????????????

SHC31510-23        SHC31510-27        SHC31510-28

???????????????????????????????        SHC31510-33        ???????????????????????????????

???????????????????????????????        ???????????????????????????????        ???????????????????????????????

March 17, 2010

The chapel reminded me of our visit to the San Agustin Cathedral in Laredo, TX.

           

May 10, 2010

Searching for prayers to St. Felix, I came across a very nice tidbit: Visits to Jesus in the Tabernacle: Hours and half-hours of adoration before the Blessed Sacrament (1898).

August 14, 2011

So far I’ve found depictions of a bereaved Mary holding her beloved son in three sacred spaces: Sts. Cyril and Methodius Church, the Corpus Christi Cathedral, and the Immaculate Conception Cathedral (left to right, respectively).

               

“No created mind, no created heart, no human force is capable of knowing how much love the heart of Mary had for our Lord” (St. Jerome).

Links of interest…  Blessed Virgin Mary…  Finding comfort (booklets as pdf files)…  How to pray the rosary…  Michelangelo: about / sculpture…  Our Lady of Sorrows: beautiful prayer (YouTube) / devotion (YouTube) / devotionals / feast (Sept. 15) / meditations / mystery of comfort and hope / mysteries (YouTube) / novena / of sorrows / prayers / scriptures (YouTube) / seven prayers / seven sorrows…  Pietà: about / art (YouTube) / chapel / depiction / making / names / statue…  Sacred Heart: parish / church

WP posts…   Angels keeping watch…  Bearing one’s crosses…  Christ’s sacred heart…  Concrete abstraction…  Faces of Mary…  Growing pains…  Heart of hearts…  Heart’s desire…  In the pink…  Historic nuggets…  Living one’s gifts…  Lourdes novenas…  Mary’s miraculous medal…  Mary’s seven joys…  May flowers…  My Franciscan Crown…  Noon visit…  Our Lady…  Our Lady’s church…  Prayerful ways…  Repeated prayers…  Revisiting St. Simon…  Saturday evening Mass…  Seven dwelling places…  Solano, Solanus, Solani…  St. Felix…  St. Monica…  Sweet Jesus

2 Responses

  1. Dear Father,

    Please pray for the soul of Orlando Whitehair who passed away a week ago.

    Also pray for Tommy and Gladys Lane for good health to them both.

    Thank you and God bless you all.

    • Sweet Jesus, thank you for helping us to build community through prayer!

      We offer our heartfelt petitions for Orlando, now with you in heaven, and both Tommy and Gladys.

      George and Dorothy, I’ve added your requests to the “petitions” page because prayer works and miracles do happen!

      Thank you for your thoughtfulness!

Leave a Reply

