October novena

StPV61513-84    OLG61513-32

Chicago has two St. Jude shrines each distinctly different from the other.  The Dominican Shrine of Saint Jude Thaddeus (above left) can be found at St. Pius V Church on Ashland Avenue, while the National Shrine of St. Jude is situated at Our Lady of Guadalupe Church on East 91st Street and is managed by the Claretians.

October novena

OLG51912-138Since St. Jude’s feast day is October 28, both shrines host solemn novenas at their respective locations.  However, their schedules differ, so be sure to check the online “links of interest” below.

What’s really nice is that one can sign up via mail and/or email for solemn novena updates.  Additionally, one can download prayers, read about St. Jude, leave comments on the various website pages and/or blogs, participate in the virtual novenas, and take a virtual tour of the national shrine any time of the day or night.

Prayers

Petition…  O glorious apostle, St. Jude Thaddeus, faithful servant and friend of Jesus, the name of the traitor has caused you to be forgotten by many; but the Church invokes you universally as the patron of hopeless cases and things despaired of.  Pray for me that I may receive the consolations and succor of heaven in all my necessities, tribulations, and sufferings, particularly (state petition) and that I may bless God with you and the Elect throughout eternity.

Thanksgiving and praise…  O glorious apostle, St. Jude, true relative of Jesus and Mary, I salute you through the Most Sacred Heart of Jesus.  Through this heart, I praise you and thank God for all the graces he has bestowed upon you.  Humbly prostrate before you, I implore you through this heart to look down upon me with compassion.  Despise not my poor prayer and let not my trust be in vain.  To you has been assigned the privilege of aiding mankind in the most desperate cases.  Oh, come to my aid that I may praise the mercies of God.  All my life I will be grateful to you and will be your faithful client until I can thank you in heaven.

StJude-FMA-a   StJude-FMA-b   StJude-FMA-c   StJude-FMA-d

StJude-NatlShr-StA-StJ-a  StJude-NatlShr-StA-StJ-b  DSJS-StJ-a  DSJS-StJ-b

Contact information

Prayer leaflet R36 is from Franciscan Mission Associates, P.O. Box 598, Mt. Vernon, NY 10551-0598.  The two prayer cards are from the National Shrine of St. Anthony and St. Jude (Providence, RI) and the Dominican Shrine in Chicago, respectively.

October 28, 2013

Lord, help me to be the person you have called me to be— to step out in faith and share your love with the world.  St. Jude, pray for us! (the Word among us, October 2013, p. 48).

OLG61513s-7

National Shrine of St. Jude – Our Lady of Guadalupe Church – Chicago

Links of interest…  Dominican Shrine of St. Jude Thaddeus…  National Shrine of St. Jude (Claretians): facebook / petitions / schedule / virtual tour / why pray the novena…  Shrines now under auspices of Congregation for the Promotion of the New Evangelization…  St. Jude: faith & intercession / in suffering & desperate timesnovena / Oct 28 / Sts. Jude & Simonthank-you

WP posts…  Forever grateful…  Prayer power…  Revisiting St. Simon…  St. Anthony Claret…  St. Jude novena (Dominicans)…  St. Jude shrine: Chicago (Claretian) & Corpus Christi

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.