Dear God

Decades ago I came to this realization…

All that I am, all that I have been, all that I hope to be, and all that I shall become I owe to you, dear God.

October 18, 2010

Reading Saturday’s meditation in the Word among us after Communion yesterday, I immediately linked to my little prayer above.

God of our Lord Jesus Christ, Father of glory, all I am and all I have comes from you.  Having come into this place, I yield myself to you.  With a deep breath, I will welcome your Spirit and release the anxieties that weigh me down.  I give back to you the mind you have given me.  Empty it of useless information, Father, and fill it with the only knowledge that matters: personal acquaintance with you (October 2010, p. 40).

April 1, 2013

“You, Lord, are all I have, and you give me all I need; my future is in your hands”
(Psalms 16:5).

March 16, 2014

Father, thank you for the life you have called me to.  Give me grace to trust you with the details as I say “yes” to you (the Word among us, Lent 2014,
p. 38).

April 24, 2014

Father, you loved me long before I came to know you.  Open my eyes to see how you are at work in every human heart (the Word among us, April 20 – May 31, 2014, p. 27).

“It is because of faith that we exchange the present for the future” (St. Fidelis).

July 21, 2014

“God is love, and all his operations proceed from love” (St. Lawrence of Brindisi).

November 19, 2014

Nothing but self-will can separate us from God.  Neither all the men upon earth, nor all the devils in hell can deprive us of his grace (St. Alphonsus Ligouri).

March 30, 2015

“Grant me a humble spirit, O God, that I may be graced with a deepening knowledge that you love me not because of my worthiness, but because you are love and reach out to me in love” (Sister Maria Tasto, OSB; 1938-2014).

May 16, 2015

“My past, O Lord, to your mercy; my present, to your love; my future, to your providence! (St. Padre Pio).

June 26, 2015

“You must be careful: don’t let your professional success or failure— which will certainly come— make you forget, even for a moment, [that] the true aim of your work is the glory of God!” (St. Josemaría Escrivá).

August 1, 2015

God wills only our good; God loves us more than anybody else can or does love us.  His will is that no one should lose his soul, that everyone should save and sanctify his soul….  God has made the attainment of our happiness, his glory.  Even chastisements come to us not to crush us, but to make us mend our ways and save our souls (St. Alphonsus Liguori).

August 6, 2015

“When it comes to obeying the commandments or enduring adversity, the words uttered by the Father should always echo in our ears: This is my Son, the beloved, in whom I am well pleased; listen to him” (St. Leo the Great).

August 25, 2015

The needle of a compass points north; if you turn it aside, it weighs against your finger, showing its natural tendency and, from the moment all pressure ceases, returns to its original direction.  And so the person who has become truly simple turns continually to God, impelled by an instinctive need (Emmanuel de Gibergues, Strength in Simplicity).

September 9, 2015

“We shall never thank God enough for the love with which he has loved us” (Fr. Raoul Plus, SJ, How to Pray Well).

September 14, 2015

I want to live at the level to which in the mind of God I belong; I accept the state in which I find myself, and whatever the degree of my love, I mean it to be the highest of which I am capable (Dom Hubert Van Zeller, How to Find God).

November 2, 2015

“What we do for ourselves during life is more certain than all the good we expect others to do for us after death” (St. Gregory the Great).

November 13, 2015

Lord, you are the one who acts.  I am not even an instrument in your hands, as others say.  You alone are the one who does all, and I am nothing more than a spectator of the great and wonderful works that you know how to accomplish (St. Frances Xavier Cabrini).

November 23, 2015

My sacrifice, my holy Mass, begins in daily life.  From the altar of the Lord, I go to the altar of my work.  I must be able to continue the sacrifice of the altar in every situation….  It is Christ whom we must proclaim through our lives; to him we offer the sacrifice of our own will (Blessed Zdenka).

January 8, 2016

Nothing created has ever been able to fill the heart of man.  God alone can fill it infinitely (St. Thomas Aquinas).

February 4, 2017

Deep down, we all have a sense that we were put on earth for something.  We have a mission and our hearts yearn to discern what that mission is.  Often we come close, but we sense what we’ve found isn’t quite the whole thing or the real thing.  Not to fret because, if our hearts are pure, we’ll be led to it (Heather King in Loaded: Money and the Spirituality of Enough).

February 28, 2017

“We must begin with a strong resolution to give ourselves wholly to God, professing to him, in a tender, loving manner, from the bottom of our hearts, that we intend to be his without any reserve; and then we must often go back and renew this same resolution” (St. Francis de Sales).

May 11, 2017

The desire for happiness is, at its core, the desire for God.  The fulfillment of true happiness can be found only in him.  We were made for relationship with him. How mind-blowing is that?  The God of the universe created you for him (Bear Woznick in Deep Adventure: The Way of Heroic Virtue).

May 26, 2017

I haven’t a clue how my story will end, but that’s all right.  When you set out on a journey and night covers the road, that’s when you discover the stars (Nancy Willard).

June 16, 2017

In Christ, even our failures become a source of grace when we accept them in imitation of his humility and courage; even our anxieties become a path to holiness when we ally them with his sufferings.  All that we do and say, if it is done and said in Christ, is done and said well, for true wellness is life in Christ (Clayton C. Barbeau in The Father of the Family).

National Shrine of St. Maximilian Kolbe – Marytown, IL

Links of interest…  Be willing to simply love God…  Discovering the true self in God with Merton’s guidance…  Expecting the unexpected…  I can’t get the institutional church out of my system…  Knowing ourselves in Jesus…  Love of God…  Sisters of St. Benedict: dome blog / facebook / gift shop & bakery / website…  St. Fidelis of Sigmaringen: about / biography / Capuchin / feast (4.24) / lessons / Mark Roymartyr / memorial / prayer (more / readings) / profile…  the Word among us… 

WP posts…  Angels keeping watch…  Budding relationships…  Concrete abstraction…  Gifts…  Little gifts…  Picturing God…  Seven dwelling places…  Soulful…  St. Felix…  Two takes

Leave a Reply

