Christ’s sacred heart

OLG52612-18

This past Saturday Steven and I attended evening Mass at Our Lady of Guadalupe.

What timeliness, considering that a leaflet with prayers to the sacred heart of Jesus arrived the very same day I took photos of the beautiful statue at church.

Prayers

Anima Christi…  Soul of Christ, sanctify me.  Body of Christ, heal me.  Blood of Christ, drench me.  Water from the side of Christ, wash me.  Passion of Christ, strengthen me.

Good Jesus, hear me.  In your wounds, shelter me.  From turning away, keep me.  From the evil one, protect me.

At the hour of my death, call me.  Into your presence, lead me to praise you with all saints forever and ever.  Amen.

Consecration…  Most holy Lord, we humbly come before you.  You have redeemed us by your death and resurrection, [and] we are yours.  You won us from darkness and… have given the light of your love.  We wish to be yours yet more, Lord, if you will accept us.

We kneel before you and freely consecrate our hearts to your sacred heart.  We mean to stand with you all of our days and all of our lives.  We beg you to send us to call others to know your sacred heart.

Protect your church throughout the world and bring to every people the peace of your kingdom so that all humankind may come to sing your praise, who live and reign forever and ever.  Amen.

For mercy…  Blessed be the holy and immaculate conception of the blessed virgin, Mary, mother of God.  We adore you, Christ, and praise you because, by your holy cross, you have redeemed the world.  Most sacred heart of Jesus, have mercy on us.

For the dying…  Most merciful Jesus, lover of souls, I pray you, by the agony of your most sacred heart and by the sorrows of your immaculate mother, to wash in your most precious blood the sinners of the world who are now in their agony and who will die today.  Heart of Jesus, once in agony, have mercy on the dying.  Amen.

Heart of hearts…  May your heart dwell always in our hearts!  May your blood ever flow in the veins of our souls!  O sun of our hearts, you give life to all things by the rays of your goodness!  I will not go until your heart has strengthened me, O Lord Jesus!  May the heart of Jesus be the king of my heart!  Blessed be God.  Amen
(St. Francis de Sales).

Novena…  O Lord, Jesus Christ, to your most sacred heart I confide this intention.  (Mention your request.)

Only look upon me, then do what your heart inspires.  Let your sacred heart decide.  I count on you.  I trust in you.  I throw myself on your mercy.

Lord Jesus!  You will not fail me.  Sacred heart of Jesus, I trust in you.  Sacred heart of Jesus, I believe in your love for me.

Sacred heart of Jesus. your kingdom come.

O sacred heart of Jesus, I have asked for many favors; but I earnestly implore this one.  (State your request.)  Take it, place it in your sacred heart.  When the eternal Father sees it covered with your precious blood, he will not refuse it.  It will no longer be my prayer but yours, O Jesus. O sacred heart of Jesus, I place my trust in you.  Let me never be confounded.  Amen.

Offering…  My God, I offer you all my prayers, works, joys, and sufferings in union with the sacred heart of Jesus, for the intentions for which he pleads and offers himself in the holy sacrifice of the Mass, in thanksgiving for your favors, in reparation for my sins, and in humble supplication for my temporal and eternal welfare, for the needs of our holy Mother the Church, for the conversion of sinners, and for the relief of the poor souls in purgatory.  Amen.

Petition…  O most holy heart of Jesus, fountain of every blessing, I adore you, I love you, and with lively sorrow for my sins I offer you this poor heart of mine.  Make me humble, patient, pure and wholly obedient to your will.  Grant, good Jesus, that I may live in you and for you.  Protect me in the midst of danger.  Comfort me in my afflictions.  Give me health of body, assistance in my temporal needs, your blessing on all that I do, and the grace of a holy death.  Amen.

Request…  Sacred heart of Jesus, today I wish to live in you, in your grace in which I desire at all costs to persevere.  Keep me from sin and strengthen my will by helping me to keep watch over my senses, my imagination, and my heart.  Help me to correct my faults which are the source of sin.  I beg you to do this, O Jesus, through Mary, your immaculate mother.  Amen.

Special need…  Sacred heart of Jesus, I firmly believe that you are here and see me perfectly and that you observe all my actions, all my thoughts, and the most secret movements of my heart.  You permit me, a sinner, to remain in your presence.  It is your goodness and bounty which command me to come to you in this, my time of special need.  With confidence I pray that you will grant me this grace which I ask of you.  Amen.

FMA-R303-CKa        FMA-R303-CKb        FMA-R303-CKc        FMA-R303-CKd

FMA-R56b        FMA-R56c        FMA-R56d        FMA-R56a

FMA-R3815-CKa        FMA-R3815-CKb        FMA-R3815-CKc        FMA-R3815-CKd

Contact information

Christ’s Sacred Heart (R 3/03), Sacred Heart (R56), and Prayers to the Sacred Heart (R-38/15) are from Franciscan Mission Associates, P.O. Box 598, Mount Vernon, NY 10551-0598.

November 23, 2013

“Through Christ the eyes of our hearts are opened, and our weak and clouded understanding reaches up toward the light” (St. Clement I).

December 7, 2013

Christ is everything for us.  If you wish to cure a wound, he is doctor; if you burn with fever, he is fountain; if you are oppressed by iniquity, he is justice; if you are in need of help, he is strength; if you fear death, he is life; if you desire heaven, he is the way; if you flee from darkness, he is light; if you seek food, he is nourishment (St. Ambrose, c. 340-397).

April 27, 2014

To keep me from sin and straying from him, God has used devotion to the sacred heart of Jesus in the Blessed Sacrament.  My life vows destined to be spent in the light irradiating from the tabernacle, and it is to the heart of Jesus that I dare go for the solution of all my problems (Pope St. John XXIII).

May 6, 2014

“A joyful heart is more easily made perfect than a downcast one” (St. Philip Neri).

June 14, 2014

DL62114s-2“There is in the sacred heart the symbol and express image of the infinite love of Jesus Christ which moves us to love in return”
(Pope Leo XIII).

June 23, 2014

Thanks, Lovely Ning and Sam, for sharing the short aspirations to the Sacred Heart from your Dominican laity meeting on Saturday!

June 27, 2014

And [Christ] showed me that it was his great desire of being loved by men and of withdrawing them from the path of ruin that made him form the design of manifesting his heart to men with all the treasures of love, of mercy, of grace, of sanctification and salvation, which it contains in order that those who desire to render him and procure him all the honor and love possible might themselves be abundantly enriched with those divine treasures of which his heart is the source (St. Mary Margaret Alacoque).

August 7, 2014

O Jesus, deign to take me into your sacred heart.  Grant that it may be the sanctuary where I may be recollected, sheltered, and find my rest
(Fr. Gabriel OCD in Divine Intimacy).

September 17, 2014

When we appeal to the throne of grace we do so through Mary, honoring God by honoring his Mother, imitating him by exalting her, touching the most responsive chord in the sacred heart of Christ with the sweet name of Mary (St. Robert Bellarmine).

October 20, 2014

Build an oratory within yourself and, there, have Jesus on the altar of your heart.  Speak to him often while you are doing your work.  Speak to him of his holy love, of his holy sufferings, and of the sorrows of most holy Mary
(St. Paul of the Cross).

November 7, 2014

“The measure of love is to love without measure” (St. Francis de Sales).

November 29, 2014

The greatness of our Lady was in her humility.  No wonder Jesus, who lived so close to her, seemed so anxious that we learn from him and from her but one lesson: To be meek and humble of heart (Blessed Teresa of Calcutta).

January 15, 2015

Draw near to our Lord thoroughly aware of you own nothingness, and you may hope all things from his goodness and mercy.  Never forget that Jesus Christ is no less generous in the Blessed Sacrament than he was during his mortal life on earth (Saint Mary Euphrasia Pelletier).

April 8, 2015

“Do everything through love and for love, making good use of the present moment, and do not be anxious about the future” (St. Margaret Mary Alacoque).

April 16, 2015

Having a personal relationship with Christ means that we are called to ongoing conversion.  It is a journey in which we continually grow in the Lord.  We grow in many ways: we deepen our faith; we get to know the saints and the family of believers; we become more compassionate toward the poor and the hungry; we become better fathers and mothers (Shaun McAfee, 2015).

May 4, 2015

“There is nothing so strong as gentleness, and there is nothing so gentle as real strength” (St. Francis de Sales).

June 12, 2015

Humble yourself whenever opportunity offers with true humility of heart.  This is all, I think, that the heart of our Lord asks of you (St. Margaret Mary Alacoque).

June 14, 2015

“The most efficacious way to have devotion to the sacred heart of Jesus is through the immaculate heart of Mary” (St. Margaret Mary Alacoque).

June 29, 2015

In your hearts reverence Christ as Lord.  Always be prepared to make a defense to any one who calls you to account for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness, reverence; and keep your conscience clear so that, when you are abused, those who revile your good behavior in Christ may be put to shame (1 Peter 3:15-16)

August 9, 2015

I turn to Mary and ask her to obtain for me the grace to imitate our Lord’s heart.  I saw how perfectly her heart copied his (St. Claude de la Colombiere).

August 13, 2015

Whoever loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever loves son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me; and whoever does not take up the cross and follow me is not worthy of me.  Those who find their life will lose it, and those who lose their life for my sake will find it (Matthew 10:37-39).

August 17, 2015

Although the heart of Jesus is distinct from that of Mary and infinitely surpasses it in excellence and holiness, nevertheless God has so closely united these two hearts that we may say with truth that they are but one heart (St. John Eudes).

August 19, 2015

Jesus is my all, and I desire to belong wholly to him.  It is extreme folly and delusion to look elsewhere for my true happiness (St. John Eudes).

August 20, 2015

“This twofold mercy abounds in the heart of the Lord Jesus— his long-suffering in waiting for the sinner and his readiness in granting pardon” (St. Bernard of Clairvaux).

October 5, 2015

Jesus.  Source of my life, sanctify me.  O my strength, fortify me.  My commander, fight for me (St. Faustina Kowalska).

November 16, 2015

St. Gertrude, a Benedictine nun, [was a mystic].  She was favored by visions… and has left… a book… called Revelations.  [She] introduced the devotion to the Sacred Heart which, four centuries later, St. Margaret Mary spread… (Catholic Culture).

November 25, 2015

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” (Colossians 3:17).

“Begin with the beautiful, which leads you to the good, which leads you to the truth” (Bishop Robert Barron).

April 11, 2016

Oh, if all were to know how beautiful Jesus is, how loving he is!  They would all die of love.  And yet how is it that he is so little loved? (St. Gemma Galgani).

June 8, 2016

“I need nothing but God and to lose myself in the heart of Jesus” (St. Mary Margaret Alacoque).

June 25, 2016

“Love overcomes, love delights, [and] those who love the Sacred Heart rejoice”
(St. Bernadette Soubirous).

June 7, 2017

Since there is in the sacred heart a symbol and a sensible image of the infinite love of Jesus Christ which moves us to love one another, therefore it is fitting and proper that we should consecrate ourselves to his most sacred heart— an act which is nothing else than an offering and a binding of one’s self to Jesus Christ, seeing that whatever honor, veneration, and love is given to his divine heart is really and truly given to Christ himself (Pope Leo XIII).

June 23, 2017

Jesus does not wish his heart to be a mystery to us.  Rather his heart is an open door; he wears it on his sleeve for us, so to speak.  Jesus makes his heart completely available to us.  He is meek, he is humble, and he makes himself vulnerable, as he is consumed by love for us and concern for our eternal destiny.

In turn, we are invited to offer our devotion, to have our hearts “burn within us,” to offer consolation to Jesus and make reparation for all of our offenses and those of the whole world.  He wants us to unite ourselves completely with the flow of love and mercy that pours forth from his heart (Anne Costa in Healing Promises: The Essential Guide to the Sacred Heart).

O my Mother, offer me to Jesus.  O my Mother, take my heart and hide it in the heart of Jesus (St. Bernadette Soubirous).

July 6, 2017

Let us believe our Lord Jesus Christ, who calls this rest his peace, a divine peace, which the world can neither give nor take away— a peace that we can never obtain by our own efforts because it is the gift of God and is his reward for the absolute and irrevocable gift of ourselves that we have made to him (Fr. Jean Nicolas Grou in The Spiritual Life).

July 30, 2017

The incredible mystery of the incarnation is that God willed that a human heart should contain his divine love as a way to be near us and draw us into himself.  As we contemplate the beautiful devotion of his heart, we plunge into the depths of the unfathomable love that God has for each one of us.  The revelation of God’s heart may be seen in the entire life, ministry, and death of Jesus and in the role that the Blessed Mother plays.  From the very beginning, their two hearts have been entwined (Anne Costa in Healing Promises: The Essential Guide to the Sacred Heart).

August 2, 2017

Through prayer, we experience closeness with God and the true love of his heart.  This love sets us straight, conquers our fears, and completes us.  And in turn, as we come to know the greatness of God’s love, we begin to look for ways to help others know it too.  Our hope to know and receive God’s love in all of its fullness and promise of restoration comes through our prayerful dialogue with the Sacred Heart of Jesus (Anne Costa in Healing Promises: The Essential Guide to the Sacred Heart).

Our Lady of the Assumption – Ingleside, TX

Links of interest…  Alive with love…  Broken heart…  Catholic devotions: A spiritual vocabulary…  Cheat sheet (Matthew 25:31-46)…  Surrendering to Christ…  Falling in love: Knowing the sacred heart of Jesus…  Fire of love, refuge from evil…  Five steps for giving your mind to Christ…  Franciscan Mission Associates…  Heart of flame: Four reasons to love the sacred heart…  How to pray the litany of the sacred heart / to receive Christ with love…  Joy found in the Sacred Heart…  Knowing Jesus: How Catholics experience the Son of God…  Love repaid with love…  Prayer: The first essential practice of the Sacred Heart…  Prayers: consecration / devotion / meditation, novena, & offering / two hearts…  Sacred heart: about / & the Holy Eucharist / beads / blood & water / consecration (family) / devotions / devotionals / five saintshistory / love that crushes evilnovena (YouTube) / reasons to love / savior / significance / society (1st Friday reflections – blogs – mater reflections) / why is it burning…  Shaun McAfee: about / Filling our Father’s house (book)…  St. Margaret Mary Alacoque: about (more) / apostle & messenger / book / feast / life / memorial / patron saint (more) / prayer / quotes (more) / receptionsecret / twelve promises (more)…  Staying ready

WP posts…  Angels keeping watch…  Beautiful sacred space…  Beloved joyful priest…  God’s lovely gifts…  Guadalupe Church…  Heart of hearts…  Home again…  Marian devotions…  Our Lady’s church…  A real church…  Right at home…  Sacred Heart…  Sacred Heart Church…  San Juan Diego …  Saturday evening Mass…  Sweet Jesus

7 Responses

  1. We actually attended Mass twice, the regular 5:00 p.m. Mass in English and a Spanish Charismatic Mass at 7:00 p.m. The joy and energy at the Charismatic Mass was incredible, reminded me of the spirit I experienced during my ACTS retreat. Deli and I had our heads close together as she translated for me. It was a delightfully intimate experience, hearing God’s Word whispered just for me. But I know I am missing part of it, so I am inspired to learn Spanish so I can participate fully in the language of the community.

    As far as the church is considered, as the sun set in the evening, the rainbow hues through the stained glass windows faded, and the lighting in the nave took over. Take another look at the photo to see how luminous it is. Beautiful, inspiring, and worthy of God’s presence. I am most grateful for those who designed this church, for those who maintain it, and for being introduced to its glory.

    • I was thoroughly moved by the spirit of the parishioners in attendance at the later Spanish Mass.

      I’d never known, much less seen, the Spirit so alive! Father Acosta was so totally in the moment that he was grinning cherubically throughout. And, oh, the singing and the movement!

      I don’t even want to think about all we would’ve missed had we not taken Father up on his invitation during five o’clock Mass to “return at seven for a very special Mass.”

      And now we know, thanks to Jessica, that prayer services— all in Spanish— are Mondays, 7-9:30 P.M. (“or a little later”), with Charismatic Mass the last Monday of the month.

  2. Glory be to the Lord and the Blessed Mother!! I have just said this prayer and will forward it to others!

    • Hi, Dinie. It’s good to hear from you again.

      Believe it or not, I didn’t find out till a few days ago that this month is dedicated to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. And, here, I happened to take the right photo at the right time.

      Serendipity at work again. Gotta love it.

      Here’s wishing you a beautiful day!

  3. Wünsche dir einen schönen Tag und guten Wochenstart sei lieb gegrüsst Klaus

    Translation: Wishing you the start of a good day and a good week. Warmly, Klaus

  4. Belo site, parabéns!

Leave a Reply

