St. Peregrine relic

SMC12112-20

We first attended Mass at Stella Maris on October 9, 2010; so we could hardly wait for our second visit.  Mary Ellen and Steve were supposed to have joined us, but they asked for a last-minute rain check instead.

“Well, do we go or not?” Steven asked.

We’d been waiting for Mary Ellen and Steve for half an hour, so we were ready.

“Let’s do it!” I said.  “Then we’ll go again two weeks from now.”

Be still my heart!

Standing on the brick walkway that led to the chapel completed in 1858 was exciting enough.  Looking at the historic cemetery from our spot was special, too.  But the very best part was conversing with Father Ralph before five o’clock Mass.

First-class relic

Having waited long enough, I dared to ask, “Did you, by any chance, bring your
St. Peregrine relic with you today?”

“You mean you didn’t see it the first time you were here?” Father asked.

“No,” I replied.  “I wish you had it with you, so I could pray for Olivia.”

Father Ralph continued talking to Steven as I stood among them in silence.

I guess he didn’t bring the relic with him.  Oh, well.  At least I asked.

Then Father Ralph extended his hand palm side up.

“Oh, my gosh!  St. Peregrine’s first-class relic!”  I was thunderstruck!  “May I hold it?”

“Sure!”

I asked for St. Peregrine’s intercession on behalf of Olivia and her loving spouse, George, and promptly placed the relic back in Father’s hand, which he kept extended for me to continue looking at the relic.

SMC12112-34St. Peregrine

Another couple joined us just then.

“Something special’s going on.  May I ask what it is?” the woman asked, wanting to be included.

Excitedly, I told her about St. Peregrine’s relic; and she wanted to touch it, too.

As her husband and Steven touched the relic, Father Ralph began telling us about the saint’s intercessions.  “We can use him, too, for another reason.”

“There was another reason, but I forgot what it is,” the woman interjected.

“With him, it could be cancer.  He’s mainly known for that, but it could be any potentially terminal illness or chronic [disease] but also for children that cause you problems, especially wayward teenagers and young adults.  He slapped a priest, hit a priest when he was a young man.  Since he got victory over that, we can ask him to pray for young people,” Father Ralph continued.

“You’re so wonderful!” I exclaimed.

“I’m so glad we came!” the woman exuberantly professed.

“Yes!  Yes!” I enthused.

“This is job security.  Do you think I could last a day without any of this?  My goodness,” teased Father Ralph.

“We came all the way from Alabama;” the woman offered, “and here we are discussing [St. Peregrine].  This is amazing!”

“Are you far from EWTN?” Father Ralph asked.

The woman said that she’d been there quite a few times; Father Ralph, once.

Then the conversation turned to other folks who were also arriving for Mass.

“What a blessing to be here!  Thank you!” I said to Father Ralph as Steven and I made our way to the chapel, no doubt missing out on more lively conversations before everyone headed in for Mass.

Wow!  What a glorious experience!

I was on Cloud Nine for the remainder of the evening and not much lower after that.

                    SMC12112-4

               

SMC12112-14         SMC12112-15         SMC12112-16

               

                   

                   

        SMC12112-71       

February 10, 2012

Having received an email from Genevieve and Harold, the couple from Alabama whom we met and prayed with at Stella Maris, I replied asking if I could add their emails here.

February 13, 2012

Genevieve emailed not only giving her consent, but also asking that we keep her son in our prayers.

Date: Friday, February 10, 2012 10:48 AM

Saw your piece on the Mass we attended.  Since we came back we found out our grandson has cancer.

Please put him on your prayer list.  His name is Adam Harrison.

We enjoyed meeting and praying with you.  May God bless you and your family.

Date: Friday, February 10, 2012 11:42 AM

I so very much appreciate your email, as it’s always good to connect with such lovely people!

I’ve had y’all in my thoughts and prayers since January 21st, believe it or not; and I’ve been wishing to know your names for my post.*

Then again, I’m not surprised.  God’s always listening, always providing in his own time, in his own way.

Awesome, isn’t he?!!!

I’ve added Adam to the “petitions” and “praise” pages.

I’m a believer that one must walk in faith to receive what one asks, so giving thanks and praise is the way to go.  (Read “two angels.”)

If you’re interested, the WP posts listed below the St. Peregrine relic post have links to prayers.  (Read “powerful intercessor” and/or “Stella Maris.”)

I visited the Dominican Shrine of St. Jude Thaddeus in Chicago when my baby granddaughter was in the hospital, and I love it!  (Read Kylie’s story: “St. Anthony Claret” and/or “St. Jude novena.”)

Please know that I’ll continue to keep y’all in my thoughts and prayers, especially since you’re part of my story from January 21st.

*May I have your permission to add your email to the bottom of my post so that others who read it can also intercede for Adam’s well-being?  It’s okay to say no.

Date: Monday, February 13, 2012 6:14 PM

Very glad to give permission for any and all prayers.  Have found it the most treatable of leukemia, but need all prayers.

We are going to Ohio to visit with Adam and his wife this weekend.

Please keep us in your prayers.  God bless.

Date: Monday, February 13, 2012 9:26 PM

I’m so glad that your miracles are unfolding.

As Father Ralph told us, St. Peregrine can be called on for preventive measures… and/or to help lessen the trials of illness.

I’ll most certainly continue to keep you and your family in my thoughts and prayers… so that Adam continues to do well, so that his wife is comforted in knowing that God has indeed heard your pleas, and so that you and Harold have a safe trip.

God bless you infinitely much!

Prayer to St. Anthony of Padua before a trip

Dear Saint Anthony, today I greet you as the special guardian of those who must travel or go on a trip.  I appreciate your continued interest in my welfare and your unfailing help.  I’m sure you’ll continue to watch over us and protect us.

You were constantly on the move from one country to another… Sicily, France, Spain… and in many other cities of Italy, so you know the perils of being on the road.  You’ve seen the troubles along the way.

In the journeys my family and I make, please guide and guard us.  Let us move with caution even as we rely on your assistance.

Our Lord, Jesus Christ, told us, “I am the way.”  Pray to him for us to keep us always on the right path.   Amen.

V.  Pray for us, Saint Anthony.
R.  That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.

Date: Thursday, February 23, 2012 9:45 AM

We visited Adam this weekend and found him to be in good health and feeling fine.  Thanks be to God.  [His] blood work was almost where [the doctors] want it.

Thanks again for your prayers.

Date: Thursday, February 23, 2012 10:12 AM

I’m delighted that Adam’s health is much improved.

There’s power in prayer, and miracles do happen!

Thank God for his angels and his saints!

I’ll continue to keep all of you in my thoughts and prayers.

November 9, 2015

“For even now miracles are wrought in the name of Christ, whether by his sacraments or by the prayers or relics of his saints” (St. Augustine).

SMC12112-43

SMC12112-12

Father Ralph’s homilies: 10 Oct 2010 / 22 Jan 2012 / 16 Sept 2012

Links of interest…  Relics…  St. Peregrine: about / articles (prayer cards) / “cancer saint” / chaplet / feast / friends of / healing intercessor & friend / healing power / May 1st / novena / prayers (requests) / shrine…  Stella Maris: anniversary / facebook / history (more) / Lamar, TX (more) / marker

WP posts…  Healing service…  Holy relics…  Memorable as ever…  Powerful intercessor…  Prayers and blessings…  Saintly connections…  Stella Maris

6 Responses

  1. Great story on St. Peregrine. I felt the Holy Spirit when I was reading his prayer! Thanks for all that you do. You are an amazing woman!

    • Sweet Lovely Ning,

      It is our sincere hope, as Steven said last night, “that the gang goes with us to Stella Maris soon.” We’re counting the days before all of us are there so y’all can meet Father Ralph and ask to be blessed with the St. Peregrine relic, too.

      What we do, what we experience is what we want to share with you, Sam, the Robinsons, Neli, and anyone else you invite when we travel to Lamar.

      It’ll be quite an outing, something we’ve talked about for some time, something else to bond us to each other.

      We love you!

      P.S. You are the amazing one. Yours and Sam’s faith is an inspiration to us.

  2. May I ask if you could pray to the relic of St. Peregrine for my uncle who has stage four cancer? Thanks.

    • Yes, absolutely. You know, of course, that you can also write to Father Ralph Jones to state your request. His address, found on the Stella Maris post, is Stella Maris Chapel; P.O. Box 1980; Fulton, TX 78358-1980.

      I’ve also added your name to the “petitions” and “praise” pages.

      I wish your uncle and you abundant blessings, especially good health.

      S.A.G.

  3. Please ask St. Peregrine’s intercession for healing through his relic for Monsignor Joseph Lamondy (throat cancer), Beverly (Stage 4 lung cancer), James Connor (lymphoma), Donald Persinger (prostrate cancer), and all children at St. Jude’s. Thank you.

    • Dear Nunny, I will gladly do as you’ve requested. I will also write to Fr. Ralph at Stella Maris (tomorrow) as well as email the prayer circle at St. Paul’s in Flour Bluff (tonight) so that they can add the names you’ve provided to their prayer lists. And I will add the names to the “petitions” page, since I know that readers stop by there to pray for those in need.

      Dear Jesus, divine physician and healer of the sick, we turn to you in this time of illness. O dearest comforter of the troubled, alleviate our worry and sorrow with your gentle love and grant us the grace and strength to accept this burden.

      Dear God, we place our worries in your hands. We place our sick under your care and humbly ask that you restore your servants to health again.

      Above all, grant us the grace to acknowledge your holy will and know that whatsoever you do, you do for the love of us. Amen (Apostolic Publishing Co., 2013, p. 65).

      Please know that you are in my thoughts and prayers, too.

      God bless you most abundantly!

Leave a Reply

