St. Anthony

OLG11709-158

Our second visit to Our Lady of Guadalupe Church in Hebbronville was met with smiles.

Devotees

Rosita and Julie (in green), a devotee of St. Anthony of Padua, chatted with us as we waited for Azalia to give us a VIP tour.

For many years, Julie has celebrated St. Anthony’s feast day by distributing homemade bread and prayer cards.  She also prays the novenas.

Like Julie I, too, have collected prayers, cards, and photos over the years.  My love for St. Anthony began at age thirteen when my great-aunt, Tía Queta, introduced us through a prayer card she gave me.

Of course, my favorite pictures of St. Anthony are those that Segy took knowing how much I’d enjoy them.

                

               

Quick response

Steven called and asked me to locate a very important file, but I didn’t find it.  Feeling somewhat perturbed, Steven said he’d look for it when he got home, so we hung up.

St. Anthony, Steven really needs that file right now, I thought.  Please let him find what he’s looking for in his briefcase.  “Tony, Tony, look around.  Steven’s very important file is missing and must be found.” 

A few minutes later, Steven emailed.

I was more forward-thinking than I give myself credit for.  I figured I’d be asked for information, so I put the folder in the briefcase in the vehicle so I would have it with me.  Duh!  Thanks for looking.  Had it here all the time.

I chuckled and replied.

Oh, darling!  You owe St. Anthony… whose photos I’ve been resizing for a post since before you called… a HUGE thank you!

Mom didn’t believe me either.

One afternoon I went by mom’s after work, and she was going nutz.

“What’s wrong?” I asked.

She’d looked for her diamond ring for days and couldn’t find it anywhere.

“Have you called on St. Anthony for help?”

She rolled her eyes and snickered.  Clearly, she was exasperated from looking everywhere she could think of.

Mentally, I asked St. Anthony to find the ring for her and then headed out the door to drive home.

Would you believe it?

When I got home, I had a phone message waiting for me.  Mom had looked again in the piano bench just as she’d done many times before.  Only this time, amazingly, she’d found her ring atop the music books as if someone had just placed it there.

Sooo, yes.  I’m a believer.  And you should be, too.

March 17, 2010

Funny how things happen.

Two Saturdays ago, Steven used the UT parking permit he’d checked out at work when we attended Fiddler on the Roof at the performing arts center in Austin.  Only it was nowhere to be found when we got home on Sunday.

We looked everywhere… in our books, in the vehicle, in our suitcases… many times to no avail; so, having no other recourse, I called on St. Anthony once again.

As Steven said, it wasn’t that he’d have to pay for a replacement.  Rather, the office has too few for any to be misplaced; so we really wanted to find it.

When Steven got home from work today, he started packing.  He has a meeting at UT tomorrow morning, so he reached for the book he’d taken to Austin the last time.

“Would you believe it?” he walked over to tell me.  “I just happened to open the book, and look what I found!”

He held up the UT parking permit and then chuckled.  “And, here, I’d forgotten to check out another permit for tomorrow… and for Saturday’s performance.”

Steven was amazed.

“This is weird,” he continued.  “The book was locked in my briefcase until after we got home and I set it out on the hearth.”

He hadn’t opened the briefcase, much less read the book in Austin.

“How could the permit have been in the book?”

“You see?  I told you St. Anthony would find it for you!  Remember mom’s diamond ring?”

Thank you, St. Anthony!

Seek God’s kingdom above all else.  Make it the most important thing in your life.  Everything else must be sought in view of this kingdom; nothing should be asked beyond it.  Whatever we ask must serve this end (St. Anthony of Padua, 1195-1231).

Prayers

One…  O good and gentle St. Anthony, your love of God and concern for his creatures made you worthy, while on earth, to possess miraculous powers.  Come to my help in this moment of trouble and anxiety.  Your ardent love of God made you worthy to hold the Holy Infant in your arms.  Whisper to him my humble request if it be for the greater glory of God and the salvation of my soul.  Amen.

Two…  Anthony, through your teaching and preaching, you bore witness to the loving presence of God in all of creation.  Now that you have come into the fullness of the kingdom, pray for us that our lives might also proclaim the good news of Jesus Christ to all humanity.

V.  Pray for us, St. Anthony.
R.  Help us become worthy of the promises of Christ.

Almighty, eternal God, you have given your people St. Anthony as an outstanding preacher and intercessor in times of need.  Grant that with his help we may follow in the example of Christian living and experience your support in all adversities.  We ask through Christ our Lord.  Amen.

Three…  St. Anthony, gentle servant of God, help me find ways to honor God’s blessings by showing my love for all of God’s creatures.  Share your strength that I may cope with the trials and troubles of daily life.  You, through whose voice the Word of God was preached, intercede for my need [mention your special request].  Powerful patron, be with me always and teach me to reach out in love and support to others.  Amen.

Act of consecration

Rogationist Fathers of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

Gift: Rogationist Fathers
of the Sacred Heart of Jesus

Glorious St. Anthony, I salute you as a good servant of Christ and a special friend of God.  You once were favored to hold the Christ Child in your arms as you cherished his world in your heart.

Today I place all my cares, temptations, and anxieties in your hands.  I resolve ever to honor you by imitating your example.

Powerful patron, model of purity, and victor over fleshly impulses, please win for me and for all devoted to you perfect purity of body, mind, and heart.  I promise, by my example and counsel, to help others to the knowledge, love, and service of God.  Amen.

Litany of the lost

Lord have mercy.  Lord have mercy.
Christ have mercy.  Christ have mercy.
Lord have mercy.  Lord have mercy.

For those of us who have lost…

Our health…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our peace of mind…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our housing…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our financial security…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
A loved one…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our dreams…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our talents…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our initial zeal…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our sobriety…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our faith…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our self-respect…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our perspective…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our innocence…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our independence…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Peace within our families…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Civil peace…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our trust in others…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our virtue…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
Our home…  St. Anthony, pray for us.
(Add your own particular loss…  St. Anthony, pray for us.)

Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world.  Have mercy on us.
Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world.  Have mercy on us.
Lamb of God, you take away the sins of the world.  Have mercy on us.

Let us pray.

All loving God, you have given us St. Anthony, the patron of the lost, as an intercessor of those who are in need of your mercy.  Listen to his voice as he calls out to you on our behalf and grant those things which will help us to grow in your love.  We ask this through Jesus Christ our Lord.  Amen.

Contact information

         

To order A Collection of Favorite Prayers from the St. Lawrence Seminary, contact the school.  The addresses for the other booklets can be found on the “creditspage.

Links of interest…  Basilica in Padua…  Dear St. Anthony…  Do you need a miracle in your life?…  Feast…  Forget the money, ask St. Anthony…  Franciscan saints…  How St. Anthony found me…  June 13th…  Mail deliveries (S.A.G.)…  Saint for lost things…  Sardine heaven: Portugal…  Shrine…  St. Anthony of Padua…  What is St. Anthony’s bread… 

WP posts…  Budding relationships…  Franciscan experience…  Franciscan treasures …  Holy relics…  Making meaning…  My Franciscan crown…  Prayer…  Promise of hope…  Saint of miracles…  Si quaeris miracula…  Soulful…  St. Anthony chaplets…  St. Felix…  Tony’s big day…  Two letters…  Two prompt replies…  Vaquero Fest Saturday