Painted churches

On our way to Houston from our summer outing at Big Bend in 1994, Segy and I drove through Fredericksburg for the first time.   Traffic was heavy, so I couldn’t really look around until we got the red light by the Christmas Store.  We agreed to return for a visit; but he grew up, went off to college, and that was that.  

Fredericksburg

Last year Steven asked me to name places I’d always wanted to visit but hadn’t.  Fredericksburg was at the top of my list.  “It’s been fifteen years since Segy and I discovered the place, but we never went back.  Too busy with school and work.”  Steven wasted no time getting us a three-day weekend; and off we went on what Kylie, our five-year-old granddaughter, calls “another great adventure.”

All those years I’d imagined walking into the Christmas Store became a reality when we walked onto Main Street.  Steven had been there numerous times, but I was in awe of the place!  We sampled the goodies at Rustin’ Rob’s and were mesmerized by all the gadgets and unusual finds at the 10 & 25.  I wanted to stay a long, long time; but a storm was brewing. 

That evening, the town welcomed us with lightning, thunder, and torrential rain.  The following day, Steven inquired about the times for Mass at the local Catholic church. 

St. Mary’s, past and present

What a beautiful church!  Gorgeous icons.  Old fashioned pews.  Lovely parishioners, inclusive and friendly.   

After Mass, we wandered around and helped ourselves to a few Divine Mercy prayer cards to share with our friends back home.  The best part was yet to come, however. 

On walking out onto the sidewalk, we noticed what we’d overlooked before.  St. Mary’s 19th-century counterpart, adjacent to the building we’d just exited, beckoned to us.  Of course, it was closed at the time; but we consoled ourselves by agreeing to return another time. 

            

Although we haven’t gone back for a look see, I recently found something almost as good as a firsthand experience.  This veritable treasure trove features picture tours of “the painted churches in Texas,” including— would you believe it— St. Mary’s. 

Wow!  God does indeed listen to our heart’s desires.

August 5, 2011

Looking through my stash of prayer cards recently I came across the Divine Mercy cards, small and large, from our visit to St. Mary’s Church. 

       

Links of interest…  Big Bend…  Fredericksburg…  “Painted churches” in TX / journey to…  Short history of the new St. Mary’s…  TX churches (photos)…  TX hill country

WP posts…  Building community…  Marian devotions…  St. Mary Cathedral…  Stella Maris

2 Responses

  1. I love this website, the information is great, and I have bookmarked it in my favorites. This is a well organized and informative website. Great Job!

  2. Today was one of those days when I checked my blog as usual first thing in the morning and sighed at the thought of having to carry around posts-in-the-works in the ol’ pea brain a while longer so I could work on the puppets I’ve been sewing for weeks.

    I’ve had so many irons in the fire (lots of projects requiring TLC) that I sometimes feel guilty for not devoting more time to my blog. Yet here were your encouraging words.

    Thanks so much for brightening my day!

Leave a Reply

