Prayer and praise

BW61515-44a

During the Gulf War Crisis, I taught a 4th grade CCE class.

On the last class day, Bennye, an inquisitive little girl with great faith, brought me a book she’d gotten from her uncle.  The cover was half torn, its pages splattered with mud.  The book had accidentally been dropped on the way to class that rainy day.

Bennye had wanted to give me something to remember her by, she said.  Her uncle, in his early twenties, had told her how much he’d enjoyed the book; so she’d asked to have it to give to me.

I was genuinely touched, so I told her I’d treasure it always.

Out of sight, out of mind

When I got home, I placed the book in the top drawer of my bedroom wicker chest.  I figured I’d see the book daily, so I’d get to it once the school year was over.  But, even after I taught summer school, the book remained in limbo.

I felt guilty for a while until I simply ignored the book.  I just wasn’t interested in reading Bennye’s book during that part of my life. 

Timely discovery

Five years passed.  I was unexpectedly faced with such an insurmountable dilemma that something made me see the book.  I thought back to the day Bennye had given it to me when I noticed the top right-hand corner of the inside cover where she’d printed her name.

The more I read the book the more engrossed I became.  I just couldn’t set it down!  I read and re-read the 119-page book many times.  It truly was the “treasure” in the “secret place” to which Isaiah had referred in one of his verses (45:3). 

Lost and found

Thus began my journey with There’s Dynamite in Praise (Gossett, 1974) until, sadly, I lent the book out in 1998 and never got it back.

Then, as I searched for links for our church website last week, I found the title online.  I was thrilled!

Monday I ordered it, and Wednesday— just two days ago— I received the copy along with a most delightful note from GramGramWhite (Margie), the seller in Keystone Height, FL.

Dear Book, go upon your way over mountain, plain, or sea.  God Bless all who speed your flight to where I wish you to be and bless all those beneath the roof where I would bid you rest; but bless even more the one to whom this book is addressed.

DG72308a        DG72308d        DG72308e

Walking in faith

Immediately I emailed a thanks.  I told Margie that I’d waited a long time for this book and wanted to share it with others.  Its simple message— prayer is asking, praising, continually walking in faith— had transformed my thinking!  And my life!

“Amazingly, I discovered greater blessings, more joy and more marvelous things happening as [I] praised the Lord…” (Gossett, p. 16).

So here’s to unabashedly praising God just because.

May 13, 2015

Prayers of adoration, praise, and thanksgiving will echo throughout heaven for all eternity.  If you really wish to become holy, seek to practice this kind of prayer…  The result will be God’s greater readiness to hear and greater generosity in answering your prayers of petition (Lawrence G. Lovasik).

May 17, 2017

Rejoice always.  Pray without ceasing.  In all circumstances give thanks, for this is the will of God for you in Christ Jesus (1 Thessalonians 5:16-18).

SG12915-101

Links of interest…  Basic book of Catholic prayer: How to pray & why: Amazon (more) / Sophia Institute Press (more)…  Being too busy impedes the spiritual life…  Books & friendship with the saints / with Christ Jesus…  Fr. Lawrence G. Lovasik: about / author (more) / quotes…  Friends in disguise: An image of grace from fairy tales…  Jesus asks a question…  Little book of holy gratitudelitany of Thanksgiving…  Praising & thanking God, now & forever…  There’s dynamite in praise (Gossett, 1974): about / book (more) / miracle healing testimonies…  True meaning of “born again” isn’t what you think…  Why are you a Christian

WP posts…  Angels all around…  Concrete abstraction…  Dear God…  Faith and prayer…  Gifts…  Little gifts…  Making meaning…  Morning exchanges…  On being Christian…  Prayerful ways…  Seven dwelling places…  Simple yet profound…  Soulful…  Timely message…  Two angels

Leave a Reply

